ARTAUD (Antonin).

Lot 34
Go to lot
Estimation :
15000 - 18000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 19 500EUR
ARTAUD (Antonin).
TWO ORIGINAL DRAWINGS. Two original drawings, one signed, on beige paper for the cover of the magazine 84. Each one : 21 x 13 cm. Undated, [late 1946 early 1947]. The two drawings are gathered under the same frame.
The more finished of the two drawings is a composition in ink where one can see a face, concentric geometric forms giving the impression of movement. Elements such as squares and nails, which are very common in Artaud's drawings from this period, can be seen. This drawing was used for the model of the cover of the magazine 84. This magazine, directed by Marcel Bisiaux, will give a predominant place to the author of the Pèse-nerf. The drawing of Artaud will become emblematic from the first issue of the magazine and it will decorate the covers of the fourteen other issues from No. 1 (March 1947) to No. 18 (May-June 1951). The pencil drawing is a sketch of the ink drawing also offering this same idea of movement and already the same elements.
The cover model was composed by Jeanne Pécheur directly on the original drawing of Artaud. She brought on a fragment of the same paper, fixed at the bottom of the drawing with small white stickers, the list of the collaborators of the number, on two columns which frame the title 84 in big letters in blue pencil. Some notes always in blue pencil give indications of colors for the n°2 (like the 1).
Small lack of paper at the right corner of the sketch and two tiny tears. Small lack at the right corner on the ink drawing.
The paper, of poor quality, has yellowed. The ink is a bit faded.
Formidable and precious documents that have apparently never been reproduced.
Antonin Artaud said that he really learned to draw and paint during his stay in 1920 in Dr. Dardel's establishment: Le Chanet, near Neuchâtel in Switzerland. His interest in painting, drawing and engraving was evident during his first years in Paris. As early as 1920, he published various reviews of Salons and articles on painting, revealing his tastes and the conception he had of the plastic work. But it was only after his internment in Rodez, from the middle of 1945, that he really began to draw. "The drawings of Artaud have something unique and it would be ridiculous to want to make them enter in any way whatsoever in a historicity of art; just as vain would be to compare them to other drawings of poets, from William Blake to Henri Michaux. (...) This something unique is this total confusion of drawing and writing, this impossibility of disjoining them on which Antonin Artaud has always insisted: I have never written without drawing either. /Or what I draw / they are not any more themes of Art transposed of the imagination on the paper, they are not affective figures, / they are gestures, a verb, a grammar, an arithmetic, a whole Kabbalah and which shits on the other, / no drawing made on the paper is a drawing, the reintegration of a mislaid sensibility, it is a machine which has breath, / it was first a machine which at the same time has breath. / It is the research of a lost world and that no human language integrates / and of which the image on the paper is not even him that a transfer, a kind of copy / reduced. / Because the true work is in the clouds ". Thus, these drawings, and even more perhaps those of the notebooks, have the same characteristics of structure, the same skeleton as the writing since, about them, it is spoken of a grammar. They are not inert forms, laid down on paper, but lightning mechanics produced by the breath, in which the theater is always existing: "I say / that for ten years now / I have been blowing with my breath / hard / compact / opaque / unbridled / unbowed forms / in the limbo of my body that is not made / and that finds itself made / and that I find each time the 10.000 beings to criticize me, / to block the attempt of the edge of a pierced infinity / Such are in any case the drawings with which I constellate all my notebooks. Paule Thévenin : The search for a lost world In Artaud Dessins et portraits. N.R.F., 1986, pp. 45-46. The text of Artaud is extracted from Dix ans que le langage est parti (in Luna-Park n° 5, October 1979).
Meredieu (Florence de). Antonin Artaud - Portraits and gris-gris. Blusson, 1984.
Antonin Artaud - Drawings. Catalog of the exhibition. National Museum of Modern Art, 1987.
Thevenin (Paule). Derrida (Jacques). Artaud Drawings and portraits. N.R.F., 1986.
Thevenin (Paule). The Question of the drawing In Antonin Artaud, this Desperate which speaks to you. Paris, Éditions du Seuil, 1993.
Antonin Artaud - Works on paper. Musée national d'art moderne and Musée Cantini, 1995.
Antonin Artaud - Works on paper. Catalog of the exhibition. New York, Museum of Modern Art, 1996.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

ARTAUD (Antonin).

Lot 34
Aller au lot
Estimation :
15000 - 18000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 19 500EUR
ARTAUD (Antonin).
DEUX DESSINS ORIGINAUX. Deux dessins originaux dont l'un signé, sur papier beige pour la couverture de la revue 84. Chacun : 21 x 13 cm. Sans date, [fin 1946 début 1947]. Les deux dessins sont réunis sous un même encadrement.
Le plus achevé des deux dessins est une composition à l'encre où l'on peut voir un visage, des formes géométriques concentriques donnant l'impression du mouvement. On distingue des éléments comme des équerres et des clous, très récurrents dans les dessins d'Artaud de cette époque. Ce dessin a servi pour la maquette de la couverture de la revue 84. Cette revue dirigée par Marcel Bisiaux accordera une place prédominante à l'auteur du Pèse-nerf. Le dessin d'Artaud deviendra emblématique dès le premier numéro de la revue et il ornera les couvertures des quatorze autres livraisons du n° 1 (mars 1947) au n° 18 (mai-juin 1951). Le dessin au crayon est une esquisse du dessin à l'encre offrant également cette même idée de mouvement et déjà les mêmes éléments.
La maquette de couverture a été composée par Jeanne Pécheur directement sur le dessin original d'Artaud. Elle a apporté sur un fragment d'un même papier, fixé en bas du dessin à l'aide de petits collants blancs, la liste des collaborateurs du numéro, sur deux colonnes qui encadrent le titre 84 en grosses lettres au crayon bleu. Quelques notes toujours au crayon bleu donnent des indications de couleurs pour le n°2 (comme le 1).
Petits manques de papier à l'angle droit de l'esquisse et deux déchirures infimes. Petit manque à l'angle droit sur le dessin à l'encre.
Le papier, de qualité médiocre, a jauni. L'encre est un peu passée.
Formidables et précieux documents qui n'ont apparemment jamais été reproduits.
Antonin Artaud disait avoir vraiment appris à dessiner et à peindre pendant le séjour qu'il avait fait en 1920 dans l'établissement du docteur Dardel : Le Chanet, près de Neuchâtel en Suisse. Son intérêt pour la chose peinte, dessinée ou gravée, est manifeste pendant ses premières années à Paris. Dès 1920 il publie divers comptes rendus de Salons et articles sur la peinture, révélateurs de ses gouts et de la conception qu'il se fait de l'Oeuvre plastique. Mais ce n'est qu'après son internement à Rodez, à partir du milieu de 1945, qu'il se met véritablement au dessin. « Les dessins d'Artaud ont quelque chose d'unique et il serait dérisoire de vouloir les faire entrer de quelque manière que ce soit dans une historicité de l'art ; tout aussi vain serait de les comparer à d'autres dessins de poètes, de William Blake à Henri Michaux. (...) Ce quelque chose d'unique, c'est cette confusion totale du dessin et de l'écriture, cette impossibilité de les disjoindre sur laquelle Antonin Artaud a toujours insisté : je n'ai jamais plus écrit sans non plus dessiner. /Or ce que je dessine / ce ne sont plus des thèmes d'Art transposés de l'imagination sur le papier, ce ne sont pas des figures affectives, / ce sont des gestes, un verbe, une grammaire, une arithmétique, une Kabbale entière et qui chie sur l'autre, / aucun dessin fait sur le papier n'est un dessin, la réintégration d'une sensibilité égarée, c'est une machine qui a souffle, / ce fut d'abord une machine qui en même temps a souffle. / C'est la recherche d'un monde perdu et que nulle langue humaine n'intègre / et dont l'image sur le papier n'est plus même lui qu'un décalque, une sorte de copie / amoindrie. / Car le vrai travail est dans les nuées ". Ainsi, ces dessins, et encore plus peut-être ceux des cahiers, ont les mêmes caractéristiques de structure, le même squelette que l'écriture puisque, à leur propos, il est parlé d'une grammaire. Ce ne sont pas des formes inertes, couchées sur le papier, mais des mécaniques de foudre produites par le souffle, en quoi le théâtre est toujours en train d'exister : " Je dis / que voilà dix ans qu'avec mon souffle / je souffle des formes dures / compactes / opaques / effrénées / sans voussures / dans les limbes de mon corps non fait / et qui se trouve fait / et que je trouve chaque fois les 10.000 êtres pour me critiquer, / pour obturer la tentative de l'orée d'un infini percé. / Tels sont en tout cas les dessins dont je constelle tous mes cahiers. Paule Thévenin : La recherche d'un monde perdu In Artaud Dessins et portraits. N.R.F., 1986, pp. 45-46. Le texte d'Artaud est extrait de Dix ans que le langage est parti (in Luna-Park n° 5, octobre 1979).
Meredieu (Florence de). Antonin Artaud - Portraits et gris-gris. Blusson, 1984.
Antonin Artaud - Dessins. Catalogue de l'exposition. Musée national d'art moderne, 1987.
Thevenin (Paule). Derrida (Jacques). Artaud Dessins et portraits. N.R.F., 1986.
Thevenin (Paule). La Question du dessin In Antonin Artaud, ce Désespéré qui vous parle. Paris, Éditions du Seuil, 1993.
Antonin Artaud - Oeuvres sur papier. Musée national d'art moderne et Musée Cantini, 1995.
Antonin Artaud - Works on paper. Catalogue de l'exposition. New York, Museum of Modern Art, 1996.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue