ARTAUD (Antonin).

Lot 25
Go to lot
Estimation :
1500 - 1800 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 1 950EUR
ARTAUD (Antonin).
Autograph letter signed to Henri Philippon + unpublished autograph manuscript on cinema. 28 July 1932, 2 pages in-4, on headed paper of the Dome, handwritten envelope attached with address on the back (1932), 4 pages in-8. Set of 6 pages.
Following an interview given to Henri Philippon of the weekly magazine Pour vous and published on July 28, 1932, Artaud writes to the journalist: Dear friend, I think that your interview with Pour Vous yesterday must have been terribly slashed, because the words that I am made to say in it, truncated in this way, are idiotic and I really look like an idiot. I'm sorry, but that's not possible, and it forces me to correct it again. Hegel's dialectic remains suspended in a sentence and looks like a monster of stupidity. I cannot let it be said that one must rely on theater actors to make good films. I said that in the present state of cinema and since one makes films and theater cinema, one must take theater actors. But because cinema is no longer cinema. The same goes for the operators of the French cinema who support a state of affairs that they did not create. I sent a letter (...) to Pour Vous and they must publish it.
Enclosed is the manuscript of the corrective text. On the cinema and more particularly on the German cinema and the Universum Film AG (U.F.A.). Artaud violently attacks French cinema: In Berlin the intellectual and artistic level of cinema is terribly higher than here, it is undeniable. There is, one could say, a school of cinema, centered around the UFA. All the films have a similar technical and artistic inspiration. And the high quality of these films makes them saleable and commercial, whereas here they are commercial at the expense of quality (...) In Berlin they think that a film must be of high quality to be saleable. Here they think that it must be crude, vulgar, stupid and banal... And so on.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

ARTAUD (Antonin).

Lot 25
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1500 - 1800 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 1 950EUR
ARTAUD (Antonin).
Lettre autographe signée à Henri Philippon. + Manuscrit autographe inédit sur le cinéma. 28 juillet 1932, 2 pages in-4, sur papier à en-tête du Dôme, enveloppe manuscrite jointe avec adresse au dos (1932), 4 pages in-8. Ensemble de 6 pages.
Suite à un entretien accordé à Henri Philippon de l'hebdomadaire Pour vous et publié le 28 juillet 1932, Artaud écrit au journaliste : Cher ami, je pense qu'on a dû vous sabrer terriblement votre interview de Pour Vous d'hier, car les paroles qu'on m'y fait dire ainsi tronquées sont idiotes et j'y ai vraiment l'air d'un con. Je suis désolé mais ce n'est pas possible, et cela m'oblige encore à une rectification. La dialectique de Hegel demeure en suspens dans une phrase et fait figure d'un monstre de bêtise. Je ne peux pas laisser dire qu'il faut compter [sur] des acteurs de théâtre pour faire de bons films j'ai dit que dans l'état actuel du cinéma et puisqu'on faisait des films et du cinéma de théâtre il fallait prendre des acteurs de théâtre. Mais parce que le cinéma n'est plus du cinéma. De même pour les opérateurs du cinéma français qui supportent un état des choses qu'ils n'ont pas créé. J'ai envoyé une lettre (...) à Pour Vous et il faut qu'ils la publient.
Joint le manuscrit du texte rectificatif. Sur le cinéma et plus particulièrement sur le cinéma allemand et l'Universum Film AG (U.F.A.). Artaud s'en prend violemment au cinéma français : A Berlin le niveau intellectuel et artistique du cinéma est terriblement plus élevé qu'ici c'est indéniable. Il y a pourrait-on dire une école de cinéma, centrée autour de la UFA. Tous les films obéissent à une inspiration technique et artistique analogue. Et la haute qualité de ces films les rend vendables et commerciaux, au lieu qu'ici ils sont commerciaux au détriment de la qualité (...) A Berlin on pense qu'un film pour être vendable doit être de qualité. Ici on pense qu'il doit être grossier, vulgaire, bête et banal... Etc.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue