Pendentif Hei TIki Maori, Nouvelle-Zélande

Lot 11
Go to lot
Estimation :
8000 - 10000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 15 600EUR
Pendentif Hei TIki Maori, Nouvelle-Zélande
Hei TIki Pendant
Maori, New Zealand 19th century or earlier
Carved stone (pounamu nephrite)
H. 7 cm
Provenance:
- William Oldman Collection (1879-1949), London
- Harry G. Collection. Beasley Collection (1881-1939), London
- John Hewett Collection (1919-1994), London
- James Economos Collection (1939-2019), Santa Fe
- Judy Nash Collection, New York
- Bonhams New York, November 9, 2011, lot 13
- Private collection, acquired at the above sale
This hei tiki pendant with a remarkable pedigree is a representation of the original ancestor of the Maori people. It is carved from nephrite jade (pounamu in the Maori language). This sacred stone, found only on the South Island of New Zealand, was a prestigious material particularly prized by the Maori because of its hardness and color.
According to Roger Neich, "the jade ornament called hei tiki, worn on the chest, is the most characteristic and valued of all Maori personal ornaments. In some origin myths, Tiki was the first man, created by the god Tane. Therefore, all anthropomorphic carvings made of bone, stone or wood can be called tiki.
The prefix hei indicates that it is an item that hangs from the neck. The hei tiki can be worn by both men and women, usually vertically but sometimes hanging horizontally by a point on the side, especially for women. These ornaments were passed down from generation to generation as a family heirloom, and at funerals they were displayed near the deceased with other family treasures. Each hei tiki had its own name and the memory of this name was preserved in songs and myths passed down orally within the clan.
The mana, power and prestige attached to each hei tiki came from its close contact with the great ancestors who had worn it in the past." (quoted in Pounamu: Maori Jade of New Zealand, David Bateman Ltd., Auckland, 1997, pages 23-25).
The figure is seen from the front, head bent to his right, sticking out his tongue, a symbol of warrior power in Maori art.
Although the left arm and lower limbs are now missing from the sculpture presented here, the spirit of this tiki remains intensely present.
Note the superb variations in the hues of the stone and the delicacy of the carving.
The deep patina, the marks of wear and tear, especially around the fixing hole, testify to prolonged use, generation after generation. The style and the reduced proportions also corroborate the hypothesis of a very great antiquity for this hei tiki.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Pendentif Hei TIki Maori, Nouvelle-Zélande

Lot 11
Aller au lot
Estimation :
8000 - 10000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 15 600EUR
Pendentif Hei TIki Maori, Nouvelle-Zélande
Pendentif Hei TIki
Maori, Nouvelle-Zélande XIXe siècle ou antérieur
Pierre sculptée (néphrite pounamu)
H. 7 cm
Provenance :
- Collection William Oldman (1879-1949), Londres
- Collection Harry G. Beasley (1881-1939), Londres
- Collection John Hewett (1919-1994), Londres
- Collection James Economos (1939-2019), Santa Fe
- Collection Judy Nash, New York
- Bonhams New York, 9 novembre 2011, lot 13
- Collection privée, acquis à la vente ci-dessus
Ce pendentif hei tiki au pedigree remarquable est une figuration de l'ancêtre originel du peuple Maori. Il est sculpté en jade néphrite (pounamu en langue maori). Cette pierre sacrée, qui ne se trouve que sur l'Île du Sud de Nouvelle-Zélande, était un matériau de prestige particulièrement prisé par les Maoris du fait de sa dureté et de sa couleur.
Selon Roger Neich, «l'ornement de jade appelé hei tiki et porté sur la poitrine est le plus caractéristique et le plus apprécié de tous les ornements personnels Maori. Dans certains mythes d'origine, Tiki fut le premier homme, créé par le dieu Tane. De ce fait, toutes les sculptures anthropomorphes en os, en pierre ou en bois, peuvent être appelées tiki.
Le préfixe hei indique qu'il s'agit d'un élément suspendu au cou. Le hei tiki peut être porté par les hommes et les femmes, généralement verticalement mais parfois suspendu horizontalement par un point sur le côté, surtout pour les femmes. Ces ornements étaient transmis de génération en génération en tant qu'héritage familial, et lors des funérailles, ils étaient exposés près du défunt avec d'autres trésors familiaux. Chaque hei tiki portait un nom qui lui était propre et le souvenir de ce nom était préservé dans les chants et les mythes transmis oralement au sein du clan.
Le mana, pouvoir et prestige attaché à chaque hei tiki provenait de son contact étroit avec les grands ancêtres qui l'avaient porté dans le passé.» (cité dans Pounamu: Maori Jade of New Zealand, David Bateman Ltd., Auckland, 1997, pages 23 à 25).
Le personnage est vu de face, la tête penchée vers sa droite, tirant la langue, symbole de puissance guerrière dans l'art Maori.
Bien que le bras gauche et les membres inférieurs soient aujourd'hui manquants sur la sculpture présentée ici, l'esprit de ce tiki reste intensément présent.
On notera les superbes variations de teintes dans la pierre et la délicatesse de la sculpture.
La profonde patine, les marques d'usure notamment autour du trou de fixation témoignent d'un usage prolongé, génération après génération. Le style et les proportions réduites corroborent également l'hypothèse d'une très grande ancienneté pour ce hei tiki.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue