Hours of "HJ" or "JH" with the mystic pelican... - Lot 8 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 8
Got to lot
Estimation :
250000 - 300000 EUR
Hours of "HJ" or "JH" with the mystic pelican... - Lot 8 - Binoche et Giquello

Hours of "HJ" or "JH" with the mystic pelican

Book of Hours (for use in Paris)

In Latin, illuminated manuscript on parchment

France, Paris, ca. 1490-1500

With 21 large miniatures and 40 small miniatures (including 24 in the calendar); miniatures attributable to three distinct artists: the master of jean d'albret (19 large miniatures and 27 small miniatures), the master of the scandalous chronicle (1 large miniature and probably 13 small miniatures) and the master of Petrarch's triumphs (1 large miniature, portrait of the unidentified patron)

An exceptional manuscript that combines poetry, mysticism and allegory.

This manuscript is a rediscovery, previously kept in a private collection. Research has not identified the patron, who is proudly depicted on folio 27v opposite the Pietà. She was, in any case, sensitive to the mystical bestiary and to forest life, which includes fierce butterflies, birds, boars, rabbits and other warlike beasts.

211 ff. (f. 1 is a numbered blank endpaper and f. 210 an unnumbered blank endpaper), numbered from 1-120, 120bis, and

121-209), collation: i6, ii6, iii8 +1, iv8+2,v8, vi8, vii8, viii8, ix8, x8, xi8, xii8, xiii8, xiv8+1, xv8+1, xvi8, xvii8, xviii8, xix8, xx8, xxi8, xxii8, xxiii8, xxiv8, xxv8, xxvi4, xxvii8, xxviii3 (of 4, the last leaf probably a ruled leaf) [blank leaves: f. 14, 27, 31, 105, 119v-120], gothic script in brown ink (calendar in brown, red, and blue ink), ruled in red ink, 16 long lines per page, text in one column (justification: 87 x 50 mm), headings in dark red and some in blue, endpapers in red and blue with white and burnished gold highlights, initials in burnished gold on blue and red backgrounds with white highlights (1 line high), initials in grey with white highlights on gold backgrounds (calendar), other initials in grey or pale pink with white highlights on red or gold backgrounds, sometimes with liquid gold highlights and floral or insect motifs (2 lines high), larger initials in blue with white highlights on red and gold backgrounds (2 to 5 lines high), illuminated borders on all pages, combination of borders on gold or reserved backgrounds with floral motifs, grotesques and zoomorphic hybrids and blue and gold acanthus leaves, other historiated borders with scenes of forest life and bestiary.

Bound in red morocco, boards decorated with a Du Seuil style decoration, outer frame of triple gilt fillet, in the centre

a second frame of triple gilt fillet with fleurons at the outer corners, metal clasps, gilt edges

(binding of the XVIIecentury). Upper spine fragile. Some interior defects with some paint chipping or folds to the parchment, some rubbing to some leaves. Very good general condition.

Size of leaves: 110 x 162 mm; size of binding: 115 x 165 mm.

Provenance

1. Manuscript made for the liturgical use of Paris (Hours of the Virgin for the use of Paris; Office des morts for the use of Paris). The calendar also reflects this Parisian use. Furthermore, in terms of style, the artists who contributed to the illumination of these Hours were all Parisian, active at the end of the 15eand the beginning of the XVIecentury.

This manuscript f

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Heures de « HJ » ou « JH » au pélican mystique... - Lot 8 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 8
Aller au lot
Estimation :
250000 - 300000 EUR
Heures de « HJ » ou « JH » au pélican mystique... - Lot 8 - Binoche et Giquello

Heures de « HJ » ou « JH » au pélican mystique

Livre d’Heures (à l’usage de Paris)

En latin, manuscrit enluminé sur parchemin

France, Paris, vers 1490-1500

Avec 21 grandes miniatures et 40 petites miniatures (dont 24 au calendrier) ; miniatures attribuables à trois artistes distincts : le maître de jean d’albret (19 grandes miniatures et 27 petites miniatures), le maitre de la chronique scandaleuse (1 grande miniature et sans doute 13 petites miniatures) et le maître des triomphes de Pétrarque (1 grande miniature, portrait de la commanditaire non identifiée).

Exceptionnel manuscrit qui allie poésie, mystique et allégorie.

Ce manuscrit constitue une redécouverte, conservé jusqu'ici dans une collection privée. Les recherches effectuées n'ont pas permis d'identifier la commanditaire, fièrement représentée au feuillet 27v face à la Pietà. Celle-ci était, en tout cas, sensible au bestiaire mystique et à la vie forestière qui figure de féroces papillons, oiseaux, sangliers, lapins et autres bêtes belliqueuses.

211 ff. (f. 1 est une garde blanche chiffrée et f. 210 une garde blanche non chiffrée), chiffrés de 1-120, 120bis, et

121-209), collation : i6, ii6, iii8 +1, iv8+2,v8, vi8, vii8, viii8, ix8, x8, xi8, xii8, xiii8, xiv8+1, xv8+1, xvi8, xvii8, xviii8, xix8, xx8, xxi8, xxii8, xxiii8, xxiv8, xxv8, xxvi4, xxvii8, xxviii3 (de 4, le dernier feuillet sans doute un feuillet réglé) [feuillets blancs : f. 14, 27, 31, 105, 119v-120], écriture gothique à l’encre brune (calendrier à l’encre brune, rouge et bleue), réglure à l’encre rouge, 16 longues lignes par page, texte sur une colonne (justification : 87 x 50 mm), rubriques en rouge foncé et quelques-unes en bleu, bout-de-lignes en rouge et bleu avec rehauts blancs et or bruni, initiales à l’or bruni sur fonds bleu et rouge avec rehauts blancs (1 ligne de hauteur), initiales en gris avec rehauts blancs sur fonds or (calendrier), autres initiales en gris ou rose pâle avec rehauts blancs sur fonds rouge ou or, parfois avec rehauts à l’or liquide et motifs floraux ou insectes (2 lignes de hauteur), plus grandes initiales en bleu avec rehauts blancs sur fonds rouge et or (2 à 5 lignes de hauteur), bordures enluminées à toutes les pages, association de bordures sur fonds or ou réservé avec motifs floraux, grotesques et hybrides zoomorphes et feuilles d’acanthes bleu et or, autres bordures historiées avec scènes de vie forestière et bestiaire.

Reliure de maroquin rouge, plats décorés d'un décor à la Du Seuil, encadrement extérieur de triple filet doré, au centre

un second encadrement de triple filet doré avec fleurons aux angles extérieurs, fermoirs métalliques, tranches dorées

(rel. du XVIIe siècle). Mors supérieur fragile. Quelques défauts intérieurs avec quelques écaillures de peinture ou pliures au parchemin, quelques frottements à certains feuillets. Très bel état général de conservation.

Dimensions des feuillets : 110 x 162 mm ; dimensions de la reliure : 115 x 165 mm.

Provenance

1. Manuscrit réalisé pour l’usage liturgique de Paris (Heures de la Vierge à l’usage de Paris ; Office des morts à l’usage de Paris). Le calendrier reflète aussi cet usage parisien. Par ailleurs, sur le plan stylistique, les artistes ayant contribué à l’enluminure de ces Heures sont tous parisiens, actifs à la fin du XVe et au début du XVIe siècle.

Ce manuscrit f

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue