HEURES CLERMONTOISES : « HEURES PASCAL »

Lot 7
Go to lot
Estimation :
160000 - 180000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 150 000EUR
HEURES CLERMONTOISES : « HEURES PASCAL »

CLERMONT-FERRAND HOURS : " PASCAL HOURS

Book of Hours (for the use of Clermont-Ferrand).

In Latin and French, illuminated manuscript on vellum skin.

France, Paris (?) and Auvergne (Clermont-Ferrand ?), ca. 1450-1460.

With 18 large miniatures attributable to a (Parisian?) artist, under the influence of Parisian models (Master of Jean Rolin II (active c. 1445-c. 1465) and Master François (active c. 1460-c. 1480)) and ornate and historiated borders painted locally in Auvergne

Beautiful manuscript with shimmering miniatures combining a Parisian aesthetic and borders most certainly painted locally in an Auvergne workshop.

Hours with the coat of arms of a Pascal family, established in Auvergne: these coats of arms will be those adopted by Blaise Pascal, engraved in particular on his famous "Pascaline" arithmetic machine, the first mechanical calculator (see the one preserved at the CNAM). The coat of arms of these Hours had been wrongly attributed to the Séguier family: it is now returned to the Pascal family. The decoration of this manuscript is based on Parisian models, supplemented by highly original ornamented and historiated borders, certainly painted locally in Auvergne: little is known about the illumination workshops in Auvergne in the 15thecentury.

Former William Waldorf Astor collection.

214 ff, preceded and followed by a pastedown and a modern marbled paper guard and 3 ff. of modern parchment, complete manuscript (collation: i8, ii8, iii8, iv6, v-xxvii8), gothic script, endnotes except for quires 3, 4, 18 and 27, ruled in purple ink, text copied on 14 lines (justification: 95 x 65mm), headings in red and some in gold, capitals heightened in red and yellow, gold, pink and blue endpapers with white highlights, initials 1 to 3 lines high in gold on blue or pink backgrounds with white highlights, large initials in blue with white highlights on gold backgrounds with vine-leaf or coloured floral motifs, introducing the large textual divisions (note two large initials with fleur-de-lys (ff. 96v and 113v)), the borders on the verso of all the leaves (outer margin, including the calendar) composed of gold, pink and blue scrolls and acanthus leaves on reserved backgrounds, sometimes with flowers or fruit and figures or birds (e.g. a nude woman on ff. 120v, 130v, 150v and 182v; grotesque, f. 118v; bird, ff. 102v, 184v), with 18 large curved miniatures, set in illuminated borders on reserved backgrounds, decorated with foliage and coloured acanthus leaves, motifs of fruit and flowers, and populated with elements of bestiary, grotesques, characters and scenes: let us note, for example, a fountain of youth (fol. 78); a woman facing a unicorn (f. 85); a naked child sitting on a staff-horse and holding a T-shaped staff (fol. 91v); death pointing a spear at a woman (fol. 143); the frame on fol. 31 (Matins of the Hours of the Virgin) is of a palette and workmanship (rather provincial) reminiscent of those of the simple borders of the text leaves, with a grotesque musician, a woman playing the mandolin, a peacock etc.; coat of arms painted in the background of the text leaves (fol.(fol. 31) [a little rubbed] and in the lower borders of the following ff.: 67, 105v, 116, 135v, 178v, 183); on the verso of the first guard, traces of a descriptive note of the manuscript in French; on f.1, parafe (notarial?) of the XVIIeor XVIIIecentury; on the front of the last endpaper: collation notes in graphite in English.

19th century binding<

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

HEURES CLERMONTOISES : « HEURES PASCAL »... - Lot 7 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 7
Aller au lot
Estimation :
160000 - 180000 EUR
HEURES CLERMONTOISES : « HEURES PASCAL »... - Lot 7 - Binoche et Giquello

HEURES CLERMONTOISES : « HEURES PASCAL »

Livre d’Heures (à l’usage de Clermont-Ferrand).

En latin et en français, manuscrit enluminé sur peau de vélin.

France, Paris (?) et Auvergne (Clermont-Ferrand ?), vers 1450-1460.

 

Avec 18 grandes miniatures attribuables à un artiste (parisien ?), sous l’influence de modèles parisiens (Maître de Jean Rolin II (actif c. 1445-c. 1465) et Maître François (actif c. 1460-c. 1480)) et des bordures ornées et historiées peintes localement en Auvergne.

 

Beau manuscrit aux miniatures chatoyantes associant une esthétique parisienne et des bordures peintes très certainement localement dans un atelier auvergnat.

 

Heures aux armes d’une famille Pascal, implantée en Auvergne : ces armoiries seront celles adoptées par Blaise Pascal, gravées notamment sur sa célèbre « Pascaline » machine arithmétique, première calculatrice mécanique (voir celle conservée au CNAM). Les armoiries de ces Heures avaient été à tort attribuées à la famille Séguier : elles sont maintenant rendues à la famille Pascal. Le décor de ce manuscrit reprend des modèles parisiens complétés de bordures ornées et historiées d’une grande originalité certainement peintes localement en Auvergne : on sait peu de chose sur les ateliers d’enluminure en Auvergne au XVe siècle.

 

Ancienne collection William Waldorf Astor.

 

214 ff., précédés et suivis d’une contregarde collée et d’une garde de papier marbré moderne et de 3 ff. de parchemin modernes, manuscrit complet (collation : i8, ii8, iii8, iv6, v-xxvii8), écriture gothique, réclames en fin de cahiers à l’exception des cahiers 3, 4, 18 et 27, réglure à l’encre mauve, texte copié sur 14 lignes (justification : 95 x 65mm), rubriques en rouge et quelques-unes en or, capitales rehaussées de rouge et de jaune, bouts-de-ligne or, rose et bleu avec rehauts blancs, initiales de 1 à 3 lignes de hauteur en or sur fonds bleu ou rose avec rehauts blancs, grandes initiales en bleu avec rehauts blancs sur fonds d’or avec motifs de feuilles de vigne ou motifs floraux de couleur, introduisant les grandes divisions textuelles (signalons deux grandes initiales à fleur de lys (ff. 96v et 113v)), bordures au verso de tous les feuillets (marge extérieure, y compris le calendrier) composées de rinceaux et feuilles d’acanthe dorées, roses et bleues sur fonds réservé, parfois peuplées de fleurs ou de fruits et de personnages ou oiseaux (e.g. femme nue aux ff. 120v, 130v, 150v et 182v ; grotesque, f. 118v ; oiseau, ff. 102v, 184v), avec 18 grandes miniatures cintrées, inscrites dans des bordures enluminées sur fonds réservés, avec décor de rinceaux et de feuilles d’acanthe colorées, motifs de fruits et de fleurs et peuplés d’éléments de bestiaire, de grotesques, de personnages et scénettes : relevons par exemple une fontaine de jouvence (fol. 78) ; une femme face à une licorne (f. 85) ; un enfant nu assis sur un cheval-bâton et tenant en main un bâton en T (fol. 91v) ; la mort dirigeant une lance vers une femme (fol. 143), l’encadrement au feuillet 31 (matines des Heures de la Vierge) est d’une palette et facture (plutôt provinciale) qui rappelle celles des bordures simples des feuillets de texte, avec un grotesque musicien, une femme jouant de la mandoline, un paon etc. ; armoiries peintes dans l’initiale D (fol. 31) [un peu frottées] et dans les bordures inférieures des ff. suivants : 67, 105v, 116, 135v, 178v, 183) ; au verso de la première garde, traces d’une notice descriptive du manuscrit en français ; au f.1, parafe (notarial ?) du XVIIe ou XVIIIe siècle ; au recto de la dernière garde papier : notes de collation à la mine de plomb en anglais.

 

Reliure du XIXe<

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue