[SWITZERLAND]. [VALAIS]. [RAROGNE (Raron)].... - Lot 9 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 9
Go to lot
Estimation :
8000 - 10000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 9 100EUR
[SWITZERLAND]. [VALAIS]. [RAROGNE (Raron)].... - Lot 9 - Binoche et Giquello

[SWITZERLAND]. [VALAIS]. [RAROGNE (Raron)].

Leaf extracted from a confraternity or devotional book related to the Church of Saint-Romain in Raron

In Latin, parchment leaf with illumination and handwritten text on the back in gothic letters

Switzerland, Raron (Valais), text dated 15 August 1526.

Representation of a nimbed and tonsured saint with a knife as a symbol (Saint Bartholomew ?), in a style close to the Valaisan artists of the 16th century.

Dimensions: 475 x 328 mm. Fold in the middle of the leaf, a leaf that may have served as a cover for a register. Inscriptions added on the back, cursive writing (17th century?) liturgical notes with references to pages of a manuscript, a book?

Very large and interesting miniature featuring a full-length saint, the coat of arms of the town of Raron (a wine-growing town) and a text on the back citing the notables of the Valais town. This atypical large format is reminiscent of the frescoes that adorn the churches of the Valais and the paintings in the diocese of Sion.

Located on the right bank of the Rhone Valley, the town of Raron (in German "Raron") is recognizable from afar thanks to a group of buildings forming a castle and standing on the rocky ridge that falls steeply towards the village. In 1494, the town of Raron was flooded by the Bietsh stream, which partially buried the village and especially the church, which was then located at the bottom of the village. In 1508, as the village no longer had a place of worship, Schiner, Bishop of Sion, had a new church built - this time on top of the ruins of the old medieval castle (see W. Ruppen, "Die Kirche St. Roman auf der Burg" in Raron, Burg und Kirche, Basel 1972). The work was entrusted to the architect Ulrich Ruffiner between 1510 and 1517. The Valais painter Hans Rinischer (died around 1530) was commissioned to paint a large fresco of the "Last Judgement", which was completed around 1518, i.e. only a few years before the inscription on the back of this leaflet. Hans Rinischer is known to have painted a number of frescoes for other churches in the Valais: for example, the frescoes in the church of Notre-Dame des Marais (Sierre) and a full-length portrait of St. Theodule (circa 1525, signed by the artist, Swiss National Museum, Zürich, LM 11646) (on artists in the Valais in the 16th century, see F. Elsig, "The Last Judgement", p. 7), see F. Elsig, "La peinture dans le diocèse de Sion (1430-1530)", in Zeitschrift für schweizerische Archäologie und Kunstgeschichte (2000), 57, pp. 131-140).

Illustration

On the front, a full-length portrait of a tonsured and nimbed saint holding a symbol, probably that of his martyrdom. The knife is the symbol of the martyrdom of a certain number of saints (according to L. Réau, Iconographie de l'art chrétien, tome III: Bartholomew, Lucius of Chur (apostle of the Grisons), James the Intercis, Herculane of Perugia). For the time being, we retain Saint Bartholomew, who was flayed alive and is most often represented with a knife in his hand. There is no reference to Saint Bartholomew in the text on the back of the sheet, but this image could correspond to a text that was placed opposite and has now disappeared. The saint is shown here in monastic robes, with a blue collar around his neck. His other hand shows a coat of arms that can be blazoned as follows: "Gules a vine eradicated, slipped Or and leaved Vert and fructed of two clusters". These coats of arms are those of the town of Raron, and it seems that the saint depicted was the object of a local cult in the town or in the church of Saint-Romain, which may have had a chapel in honour of the saint. Vines and wine play a central role in the Valais.

Text

On the reverse is the following text written in Gothic ink: Suasii vigilantissimi [...] domini Petri Herten atque commissione prudentium virorum Stephani Maxen notarie Arnoldi Kalbermatter edilium impensisque totius communitatis ecclesie et partim noviter compositum est presens opus deo opitulante ad usum Sedunensem per me Joannem Kelber presbiterum [....] vespre anno virginalis partus millesimo quingentesimo vigesimo sexto [1526] die vero duodecima mensis augusti.

Among the names mentioned in the transcribed text, we find some public or ecclesiastical characters such as Peter Herten, present in the archives and said to be "canon of Sion". Also mentioned: Stephan Maxen (1479/80-1534), from the important Maxen family, was bailiff of Raron: he was a notary in Raron, and a faithful supporter of Cardinal Matthew Schiner. Another person mentioned is Arnold de Kalbermatten (or Kalbermatter) (born around 1450/1460-1537), Grand Bailiff of Raron in 1512, nephew of Grand Bailiff Nicolas de Kalbermatten. In the church of Raron, on the north wall, one can see a fresco dating from 1512: four sai

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

[SUISSE]. [VALAIS]. [RAROGNE (Raron)]. Feuillet... - Lot 9 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 9
Aller au lot
Estimation :
8000 - 10000 EUR
[SUISSE]. [VALAIS]. [RAROGNE (Raron)]. Feuillet... - Lot 9 - Binoche et Giquello

[SUISSE]. [VALAIS]. [RAROGNE (Raron)].

Feuillet extrait d'un livre de confrérie ou de dévotion lié à l'Église Saint-Romain de Rarogne

En latin, feuillet de parchemin avec enluminure et texte manuscrit au dos en lettres gothiques

Suisse, Rarogne (Valais), texte daté 15 août 1526.

Représentation d'un saint nimbé et tonsuré avec un couteau comme symbole (saint Barthélémy ?), d'un style proche des artistes valaisans du XVIe siècle.

Dimensions : 475 x 328 mm. Pliure au milieu du feuillet, feuillet ayant peut-être servi de couverture pour un registre. Inscriptions rajoutées au verso, écriture cursive (XVIIe s. ?) notes liturgiques avec renvois à des pages d'un manuscrit, d'un livre ?

Fort grande et intéressante miniature figurant un saint en pied, les armoiries de la ville de Rarogne (ville viticole) et un texte au dos citant des notables de la cité valaisanne. Ce grand format atypique n'est pas sans rappeler les fresques qui ornent les églises du Valais et la peinture dans le diocèse de Sion.

Située sur la rive droite de la vallée du Rhône, la ville de Rarogne (en allemand « Raron ») est reconnaissable de loin grâce à un ensemble de bâtiments formant château fort et se dressant sur la crête rocheuse qui tombe à pic vers le village. La ville de Rarogne connut en 1494 une crue du torrent nommé Bietsh qui ensevelit partiellement le village et surtout l'église sise à l'époque en bas du village.  En 1508, le village n'ayant plus de lieu de culte, Schiner, évêque de Sion, fait construire une église - cette fois en hauteur - sur les ruines de l'ancien château médiéval (voir W. Ruppen, « Die Kirche St. Roman auf der Burg » dans Raron, Burg und Kirche, Bâle 1972). Les travaux sont confiés de 1510 à 1517 à l'architecte Ulrich Ruffiner. Le peintre valaisan Hans Rinischer (mort vers 1530) reçut la commande d'une grande fresque du « Jugement dernier », achevée vers 1518 et donc quelques années seulement avant l'inscription au dos du présent feuillet. On connaît de Hans Rinischer un certain nombre de fresques pour d'autres églises du Valais : citons par exemple les fresques de l'église Notre-Dame des Marais (Sierre) ou encore un portrait en pied de saint Théodule (circa 1525, signature de l'artiste, Zürich, Musée national suisse, LM 11646) (sur les artistes du Valais au XVIe s., voir F. Elsig, « La peinture dans le diocèse de Sion (1430-1530) », in Zeitschrift für schweizerische Archäologie und Kunstgeschichte (2000), 57, pp. 131-140).

Illustration

Au recto, un portrait en pied d'un saint tonsuré et nimbé, tenant un symbole, sans doute celui de son martyre. Le couteau est le symbole du martyre d'un certain nombre de saints (citons d'après L. Réau, Iconographie de l'art chrétien, tome III : Barthélémy, Lucius de Coire (apôtre des Grisons), Jacques l'Intercis, Herculan de Pérouse). Pour l'heure, nous retenons saint Barthélémy, écorché vivant et que l'on représente le plus souvent avec un couteau à la main. Il n'est pas fait référence à saint Barthélémy dans le texte au dos du feuillet, mais cette image pouvait correspondre à un texte placé en regard et maintenant disparu. Le saint est ici figuré en robe monastique, avec une collerette bleue au cou. Il présente de son autre main des armoiries que l'on peut blasonner ainsi : « De gueules au cep de vigne arraché, tigé d'or et feuillé de sinople et fruité de deux grappes ». Ces armoiries sont celles de la ville de Rarogne et donc il semble que le saint figuré ait fait l'objet d'un culte local dans la ville ou dans l'église Saint-Romain qui disposait peut-être d'une chapelle en l'honneur du saint. La vigne et le vin occupent un rôle central dans le Valais.

Texte

Au verso figure le texte suivant inscrit à l'encre en caractères gothiques : Suasii vigilantissimi [...] domini Petri Herten atque commissione prudentium virorum Stephani Maxen notarie Arnoldi Kalbermatter edilium impensisque totius communitatis ecclesie et partim noviter compositum est presens opus deo opitulante ad usum Sedunensem per me Joannem Kelber presbiterum [...] vespre anno virginalis partus millesimo quingentesimo vigesimo sexto [1526] die vero duodecima mensis augusti.

Parmi les noms cités dans le texte transcrit, on relève quelques personnages publics ou ecclésiastiques tels Peter Herten, présent dans les archives et dit « chanoine de Sion ». Egalement cité : Stephan Maxen (1479/80-1534), issu de l'importante famille Maxen, fut bailli de Rarogne : il exerçait la profession de notaire à Rarogne, et fut un fidèle partisan du cardinal Matthieu Schiner. Autre personnage cité : Arnold de Kalbermatten (ou Kalbermatter) (né vers 1450/1460-1537), grand bailli de Rarogne en 1512, neveu du grand bailli Nicolas de Kalbermatten. On peut voir dans l'église de Rarogne, sur le mur nord, une fresque datant de 1512 : quatre sai

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue