HEMBA ANCESTOR FIGURE, NIEMBO DE LA LUIKA,... - Lot 62 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 62
Go to lot
Estimation :
300000 - 400000 EUR
HEMBA ANCESTOR FIGURE, NIEMBO DE LA LUIKA,... - Lot 62 - Binoche et Giquello

HEMBA ANCESTOR FIGURE, NIEMBO DE LA LUIKA, DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

Wood with a deep, shiny, black-brown patina

H. 61 cm - L. 19 cm


Provenance: - Pierre Dartevelle, Brussels

- Jean-Claude Bellier, Paris

- Private collection


Exhibition :

- The Inner Eye: Vision and Transcendence in African Arts, LACMA, 26 February-9 July 2017

- Heroic Africans: Legendary Leaders, Iconic Sculptures, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, 19 September 2011-29 January 2012

- Heroic Africans: Legendary Leaders, Iconic Sculptures, Rietberg Museum, Zurich, 26 February-3 June 2012


Publication :

- Alisa LaGamma, Helden Afrikas: Ein neuer Blick auf die Kunst, Zurich, Rietberg Musuem, 2012, pp. 260-261, fig. 222

- Alisa LaGamma, Heroic Africans: Legendary Leaders, Iconic Sculptures, New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2011, pp. 260-261, fig 222


Effigies of renowned ancestors have made the Hemba sculptors famous. They are rare and express in their own way the spirit of the great princely families who left the forest areas to settle in the vast plains of the eastern part of Congo, Maniema and northern Katanga. Some of the workshops in the southern Niembo reached a level of perfection and balance that is unparalleled. The sculpture presented here is among the major works of these workshops.

Workshop and style

The effigy, in a standing posture, is carved from a medium-heavy wood, probably Chlorophora excelsa, and measures 61 cm by 19 cm wide. It is covered with a dark, lustrous, old patina. The ovoid face, with its full and rounded forms, highlights a smooth forehead that extends to the top of the skull. This practice is a sign of wisdom and authority. The eye sockets are cut into an almond-shaped space, the eyes half-closed, slightly slanted, with the upper eyelid more prominent. The expression underlines, in what has been called the great art of sleep, the vigilance of the ancestor whose gaze, open to another world, remains attentive to his own. The nasal bridge is thin, curved like an eagle's beak. Under the nasal filter, the mouth appears closed, with modelled, slightly fleshy lips. The chin is rounded. The auricle is circular and marked with a central pastille.

The four-lobed headdress is tilted backwards in a fashion characteristic of the Luika workshops. It is tied in two double braids in a semi-circle passing under two horizontal braids1. These rest on the back lobe of the headdress. According to tradition, the heroes of these princely families used to keep the seeds to be planted during the short migrations of the dry season. This hairstyle is widely spread throughout the region in infinite varieties of shapes and positions.

Under a cylindrical neck with a protruding Adam's apple, the shoulders are gently flared and begin the volume of the left-slit thorax. This is cut out of the bulbous belly, tightened under the arms. The arms spread out harmoniously to wrap around the sides of the umbilical zone, reminding us how much this hero of the clan watches over his family like a mother over the child she is expecting. Vertical scarification marks in the form of spikes adorn the abdomen, a sign of the ancestral effigies of the Luika workshops. The back is smooth and sinuous, the spine hollowed out, the shoulder blades shaped. The buttocks are cut out in a circle. The lower limbs, whose lower part is destroyed, are firm and rounded around a valiant and circumcised sex. The isometric rhythms accentuate the stable character of this peaceful and serene posture. This eurhythmics is particularly noticeable in the expression of the volume of the trunk, narrowing at the level of the arms, amplifying at the level of the belly, giving the whole the curvilinear movement of a Greek amphora.

FRIDAY 17 DECEMBER 2021 43

This masterful sculpture is related to a workshop of the Luika, from which several works are similar. Among these, we note the effigy of the Institut des Musées Nationaux du Congo (IMNC) collected in the Mbulula area2 ; that of the Art Institute of Chicago, collected in the vicinity of Kongolo; that of the Museum of Zurich acquired in 1940 from the Hans Coray collection, originating from the northern Niembo area and that of Vranken-Hoet, Brussels. In this group, the ancestral figure studied is exceptional and probably dates from the turn of the 20th century.

Cult and function

The ancestor's effigy, the prerogative of the great families of ancestors, is in their own way part of a cult that is paid to the founding heroes and illustrious figures who have marked the history of their clan, from the Fang in the north-west of Gabon to the Boyo, the Tumbwe and the Bembe in the east of the DRC.

Its function is to keep the memory of them and correlate it to the history of the country.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

FIGURE D’ANCÊTRE HEMBA, NIEMBO DE LA LUIKA,... - Lot 62 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 62
Aller au lot
Estimation :
300000 - 400000 EUR
FIGURE D’ANCÊTRE HEMBA, NIEMBO DE LA LUIKA,... - Lot 62 - Binoche et Giquello

FIGURE D’ANCÊTRE HEMBA, NIEMBO DE LA LUIKA, RÉPUBLIQUE DÉMOCRATIQUE DU CONGO

Bois à patine brun noir, brillante et profonde

H. 61 cm – L. 19 cm


Provenance : - Pierre Dartevelle, Bruxelles

- Jean-Claude Bellier, Paris

- Collection privée


Exposition :

- The Inner Eye: Vision and Transcendence in African Arts, LACMA, 26 février-9 juillet 2017

- Heroic Africans: Legendary Leaders, Iconic Sculptures, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, 19 septembre 2011-29 janvier 2012

- Heroic Africans: Legendary Leaders, Iconic Sculptures, Rietberg Museum, Zurich, 26 février-3 juin 2012


Publication :

- Alisa LaGamma, Helden Afrikas: Ein neuer Blick auf die Kunst, Zurich, Rietberg Musuem, 2012, p. 260-261, fig. 222

- Alisa LaGamma, Heroic Africans: Legendary Leaders, Iconic Sculptures, New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2011, pp. 260-261, fig 222


Les effigies d’ancêtres réputés ont fait la renommée des sculpteurs hemba. Elles sont rares et expriment à leur manière l’esprit des grandes familles princières qui ont quitté les zones forestières pour s’établir dans les vastes plaines de la partie orientale du Congo, le Maniema et le Katanga septentrional. Quelques ateliers des Niembo méridionaux ont atteint un niveau de perfection et d’équilibre inégalés. La sculpture présentée compte parmi les oeuvres majeures de ces ateliers.

Atelier et style

L’effigie, en posture debout, taillée dans un bois mi-lourd, probablement le Chlorophora excelsa, mesure 61 cm sur 19 cm de large. Elle est couverte d’une patine sombre, lustrée et ancienne. Le visage ovoïde, aux formes pleines et arrondies, met en évidence un front lisse et dégagé jusqu’au sommet du crâne. Cette pratique est signe de sagesse et d’autorité. Les cavités oculaires sont taillées en réserve dans un espace en amande, les yeux mi-clos, légèrement en biais, à la paupière supérieure plus saillante. L’expression souligne, dans ce qui a été appelé le grand art du sommeil, la vigilance de l’ancêtre dont le regard, ouvert sur un autre monde, reste attentif aux siens. L’arête nasale est fine, recourbée en bec d’aigle. Sous le filtre nasal, la bouche apparaît close, aux lèvres modelées, légèrement charnues. Le menton est arrondi. Le pavillon de l’oreille est circulaire marqué d’une pastille centrale.

La coiffe quadrilobée est inclinée vers l’arrière suivant une mode caractéristique des ateliers de la Luika. Elle se noue en deux doubles tresses en demi-cercle passant sous deux tresses horizontales1. Celles-ci reposent sur le lobe arrière de la coiffure. Selon la tradition, les héros de ces familles princières y conservaient les graines à planter lors des courtes migrations de la saison sèche. Cette mode de coiffure est largement répandue dans toute la région en d’infinies variétés de formes et de positions.

Sous un cou cylindrique à la pomme d’Adam saillante, le plan des épaules est doucement épannelé et amorce le volume du thorax fendu à gauche. Celui-ci se découpe du ventre bulbeux, resserré sous les bras. Ceux-ci s’écartent harmonieusement pour envelopper les côtés de la zone ombilicale, rappelant combien ce héros du clan veille sur les siens comme une mère sur l’enfant qu’elle attend. Des scarifications verticales en épi ornent l’abdomen, signe des effigies ancestrales des ateliers de la Luika. Le dos lisse et sinueux, la colonne vertébrale creusée, les omoplates modelées. Le fessier est découpé en cercle. Les membres inférieurs, dont la partie inférieure est détruite, sont fermes et arrondis autour d’un sexe vaillant et circoncis. Les rythmes isométriques accentuent le caractère stable de cette posture paisible et sereine. Cette eurythmie est particulièrement sensible dans l’expression du volume du tronc, se rétrécissant au niveau des bras, s’amplifiant au niveau du ventre, donnant à l’ensemble le mouvement curviligne d’une amphore grecque.

VENDREDI 17 DÉCEMBRE 2021 43

Cette sculpture magistrale se rattache à un atelier de la Luika dont plusieurs oeuvres s’en rapprochent. Parmi celles-ci, relevons l’effigie de l’institut des Musées Nationaux du Congo (IMNC) collectée dans la zone de Mbulula2 ; celle de l’Art Institute of Chicago, collectée aux environs de Kongolo ; celle du Musée de Zurich acquise en 1940 de la collection Hans Coray, provenant de la zone septentrionale des Niembo et celle de Vranken-Hoet, Bruxelles. Dans cet ensemble, la figure ancestrale étudiée est exceptionnelle et remonte vraisemblablement au tournant du XXe siècle.

Culte et fonction

L’effigie d’ancêtre, apanage des grandes familles d’ancêtres, rejoint à leur manière un culte qui est rendu aux héros fondateurs et aux personnages illustres qui ont marqué l’histoire de leur clan, des Fang au nord-ouest du Gabon jusque chez les Boyo, les Tumbwe et les Bembe à l’est de la R.D.Congo.

Sa fonction est d’en garder la mémoire et corrél

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue