ENSOR James (1860-1949)

Lot 199
Got to lot
Estimation :
2500 - 3000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 3 640EUR
ENSOR James (1860-1949)

The Plague King. 1895. Etching. 115 x 93 mm. Taevernier 100. Very nice proof on strong fibrous japan, titled, dedicated in pencil: "à Monsieur Van Oest / et vivent Poe et Baudelaire", signed, then initialled in pencil on verso. Minute traces of rubbing on the reverse. Fine scattered broken creases at the edges of the folio. Wide margins [297 x 396 mm].
Ensor was inspired by a tale by Edgar Poe, "The Plague King", a scabrous tale, between black humour and satire, originally published in 1835. It was translated into French by Charles Baudelaire and published in the Nouvelles histoires extraordinaires in 1857. The scene depicts the basement banquet held by the king of junk, King Plague I (a satire of President Andrew Jackson in Poe's day), in 14th century London ravaged by the plague of disease. At this banquet, two sailors on the prowl cause havoc among the guests, all of whom are dignitaries, in a burlesque and grotesque atmosphere that plays on death.
This is an offprint with very large margins, dedicated to the publisher Gérard van Oest (1875-1935). The latter published G. Le Roy's book on Ensor in Brussels in 1922, of which the first edition of 55 copies includes a proof printed on Japon, albeit in a smaller format than our proof (230 x 300 mm).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

ENSOR James (1860-1949)

Lot 199
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2500 - 3000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 3 640EUR
ENSOR James (1860-1949)

Le Roi Peste. 1895. Eau-forte. 115 x 93 mm. Taevernier 100. Très belle épreuve sur japon fort fibreux, titrée, dédicacée au crayon : «à Monsieur Van Oest / et vivent Poe et Baudelaire», signée, puis revêtue du grand paraphe au crayon au verso. Infimes traces de frottement au verso. Fins plis cassés épars aux bords du feuillet. Grandes marges [297 x 396 mm].
Ensor s'est inspiré d'un conte d'Edgar Poe, «Le Roi Peste», récit scabreux, entre humour noir et satire, paru initialement en 1835. Il fut traduit en français par Charles Baudelaire et parut dans les Nouvelles histoires extraordinaires en 1857. La scène représente le banquet en sous-sol tenu par le roi de pacotille, le roi Peste Ier (satire du président Andrew Jackson du temps de Poe), dans le Londres du XIVe siècle ravagé par le fléau de la maladie. Dans ce banquet font irruption deux marins en goguette qui sèment la zizanie parmi les convives, tous des dignitaires, dans une ambiance burlesque et grotesque qui se joue de la mort.
Il s'agit d'une épreuve de tiré à part à très grandes marges, dédicacée à l'éditeur Gérard van Oest (1875-1935). Ce dernier fit paraître en 1922 à Bruxelles l'ouvrage de G. Le Roy sur Ensor, dont le tirage de tête à 55 exemplaires comporte une épreuve tirée sur japon, d'un format toutefois inférieur à notre épreuve (230 x 300 mm).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue