NEW CALEDONIA. - MENU. Original collage made... - Lot 194 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 194
Got to lot
Estimation :
4000 - 5000 EUR
NEW CALEDONIA. - MENU. Original collage made... - Lot 194 - Binoche et Giquello
NEW CALEDONIA. - MENU. Original collage made in memory of the banquet held on March 29, 1866, for the officers and sailors of the ship Fulton. [c. 1866]. 59 x 47.5 cm. Transferred to later paper.
A very curious original collage, consisting of an assemblage of drawings and pieces of coloured paper.
The name of the Fulton is linked to a significant episode in New Caledonia under the administration of Charles Guillain, who was appointed governor of New Caledonia in 1862: the Gatope (Voh) expedition. This expedition was organised following the massacres perpetrated in the region in July and August 1865: first there was the colonist named Taillard, who was murdered by the natives, then the crew of the coaster La Reine-des-Iles who were massacred and eaten by the local tribes, and finally, another act of anthropophagi committed against the sailors of the coaster Le Secret.
This was too much. Operations were immediately halted on board the Fulton where the Governor was.... A detachment under the command of Lieutenant Mathieu was led to Kone; after having attacked and destroyed the villages in the centre of the valley, it joined up with the Billès and Guillery columns. On the 9th, the two detachments that remained [...] operated against the Pouanlotches. Their large village, surprised at daybreak, was completely destroyed as well as a large number of others; many natives were killed or wounded; so the memory of an action carried out with great vigor and accomplished with complete success, remained vivid in the minds of the inhabitants of these regions (Legrand, Au pays des Canaques, 1893, p. 136).
It was thus on board the Fulton, a steam aviso, that the punitive expedition of Gatope was prepared, and several of its officers played a leading role in the policy of "pacification" of the region. It is also said that it was on board the Fulton that the curious rushed to witness the first lighting of the Amedee Lighthouse on 15 November 1865 - this lighthouse, which still exists, was built in Paris in 1862, dismantled piece by piece, then transported from Le Havre to New Caledonia where it was assembled on an archipelago.
In the upper part of the collage is the name, probably autographed, of each of the guests (about forty) who attended the banquet: one finds in particular the names of officers Billès and Mathieu, or that of Leffet (Eugène Leffet, born in Saumur in 1838), a ship's ensign whose name is today associated with a remarkable Canaque sculpture (a tutelary deity) "removed" by him in September 1865 during the Gatope expedition and which was acquired by the New Caledonia Museum in 2012 (cf. E. Kasarhérou, "À propos d'une sculpture remarquable acquise par le musée de Nouvelle-Calédonie" in Journal de la Société des Océanistes, 136-137, 2013).
The lower part details the menu served on the occasion: soubise chops, vermicelli soup, braised leg of lamb with tomato sauce, sautéed chicken, duck with olives, truffled turkey, cheese, cakes, fruit (grapes, pineapples and bananas), all washed down with various beverages (rum, claret, Madeira, liqueurs, absinthe, coffee and cognac).
In the centre is a bearded sailor smoking a pipe, flanked by views of Gatope and the lighthouse on Amedee Island, with a representation of the Fulton in the two roadsteads.
An astonishing and precious document for the history of New Caledonia.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

NOUVELLE-CALÉDONIE. - MENU. Collage original... - Lot 194 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 194
Aller au lot
Estimation :
4000 - 5000 EUR
NOUVELLE-CALÉDONIE. - MENU. Collage original... - Lot 194 - Binoche et Giquello
NOUVELLE-CALÉDONIE. - MENU. Collage original réalisé en souvenir du banquet qui a réuni le 29 mars 1866 les officiers et marins du navire le Fulton. [c. 1866]. 59 x 47,5 cm. Transféré sur papier postérieur.
Très curieux collage original, constitué d'un assemblage de dessins et de pièces de papier coloriés.
Le nom du Fulton se rattache à un épisode marquant de la Nouvelle-Calédonie sous l'administration de Charles Guillain, nommé gouverneur de la Nouvelle-Calédonie en 1862 : celui de l'expédition de Gatope (Voh). Celle-ci fut organisée suite aux massacres perpétrés dans la région en juillet et août 1865 : il y eut d'abord ce colon nommé Taillard, assassiné par des indigènes, puis l'équipage du caboteur La Reine-des Iles qui fut massacré et mangé par les tribus locales, et enfin, cet autre acte d'anthropophagie commis à l'encontre des marins du côtre Le Secret.
C'en était trop. Les opérations furent aussitôt arrêtées à bord du Fulton où se trouvait le gouverneur [...]. Un détachement, sous les ordres du lieutenant de vaisseau Mathieu fut conduit à Koné ; après avoir attaqué et détruit les villages du centre de la vallée, il fit sa jonction avec les colonnes Billès et Guillery. Le 9, les deux détachements qui restaient, [...] opérèrent contre les Pouanlotches. Leur grand village, surpris au point du jour, fut complètement anéanti ainsi qu'un grand nombre d'autres ; beaucoup d'indigènes furent tués ou blessés ; aussi le souvenir d'une action menée avec une grande vigueur et accomplie avec un succès complet, est-il demeuré vivace dans l'esprit des habitants de ces régions (Legrand, Au pays des Canaques, 1893, p. 136).
C'est donc à bord du Fulton, aviso à vapeur, que fut préparée l'expédition punitive de Gatope, et plusieurs de ses officiers jouèrent un rôle de premier plan dans la politique de «pacification» de la région. On raconte aussi que c'est à bord du Fulton que les curieux s'empressèrent d'embarquer pour assister au premier allumage du phare Amédée le 15 novembre 1865 - ce phare, qui existe toujours, fut construit à Paris en 1862, démonté pièces par pièces, puis transporté du Havre en Nouvelle-Calédonie où il fut assemblé sur un archipel.
Dans la partie supérieure du collage figure le nom, sans doute autographe, de chacun des convives (une quarantaine) qui participèrent au banquet : on y retrouve notamment le nom des officiers Billès et Mathieu, ou encore celui de Leffet (Eugène Leffet, né à Saumur en 1838) enseigne de vaisseau dont le nom est aujourd'hui associé à une remarquable sculpture canaque (une divinité tutélaire) «enlevée» par ses soins en septembre 1865 lors de l'expédition de Gatope et qui a été acquise par le musée de Nouvelle-Calédonie en 2012 (cf. E. Kasarhérou, «À propos d'une sculpture remarquable acquise par le musée de Nouvelle-Calédonie» in Journal de la Société des Océanistes, 136-137, 2013).
La partie inférieure détaille le menu servi à l'occasion : côtelettes soubise, potage vermicelle, gigot braisé sauce tomates, poulets sautés, canards aux olives, dinde truffée, fromages, gâteaux, fruits (raisin, ananas et bananes), le tout arrosé de divers breuvages (rhum, bordeaux, madère, liqueurs, absinthe, café et cognac).
Au centre figure un marin barbu et fumant la pipe, flanqué des vues de Gatope et du phare de l'îlot Amédée, avec une représentation du Fulton dans les deux rades.
Document étonnant et précieux pour l'histoire de la Nouvelle-Calédonie.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue