BORGET (Auguste)

Lot 187
Got to lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 2 401EUR
BORGET (Auguste)
Fragments d'un voyage autour du monde. Moulins, Desrosiers, n.d. [1850]. In-4 oblong, soft glazed cream paper boards, first cover illustrated (publisher's binding).
Borba de Moraes, t. I, pp. 98-99. - Forbes, National Hawaiian Bibliography, vol. II, no. 1766.
First edition of this rare and very beautiful travel album, illustrated with 12 plates drawn and lithographed in two tones by Auguste Borget, plus a lithographed composition on the title showing the sacred Ark of the Hindus, reproduced on the first cover of the binder.
Issued from the presses of Pierre Antoine Desrosiers, the most important printer in Moulins at the time, the album seems to have been printed in a small number. It is not listed by Sabin or Cordier.
Originally from Issoudun in the Loire Valley, Auguste Borget (1808-1877) was a close friend of Balzac and Zulma Carraud. A pupil of Boichard père and Théodore Gudin, he made his debut at the Salon of 1836 where he exhibited the works he painted during his travels until 1859. In 1836, he embarked on a circumnavigation that took him from New York to India, passing through South America, China, Manila, Singapore and the Straits of Malacca, before returning to Paris in the summer of 1840.
The plates represent the various places visited by Borget: windmills on the banks of the Hudson River, the church of Our Lady of Glory in Rio de Janeiro, a street in Buenos Aires, Argentina, another in Lima, Peru, a market in Canton, the beach in Honolulu, Hawaii, a bridge and a village near Manila, Philippines, etc. Each plate is accompanied by a photograph of the place where Borget lived. Each of them is accompanied by an explanatory leaflet.
A complete copy of the explanatory leaflet for plate n°10, which is often missing.
Small retouching to the cartonnage.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

BORGET (Auguste)

Lot 187
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 2 401EUR
BORGET (Auguste)
Fragments d'un voyage autour du monde. Moulins, Desrosiers, s.d. [1850]. In-4 oblong, cartonnage souple de papier crème glacé, premier plat illustré (Reliure de l'éditeur).
Borba de Moraes, t. I, pp. 98-99. - Forbes, National Hawaiian Bibliography, t. II, n°1766.
Édition originale de ce rare et très bel album de voyages, illustrée de 12 planches dessinées et lithographiées en deux tons par Auguste Borget, plus une composition lithographiée sur le titre montrant l'Arche sacrée des Hindous, reprise sur le premier plat du cartonnage.
Sorti des presses de Pierre Antoine Desrosiers, l'imprimeur le plus important de Moulins à l'époque, l'album semble avoir fait l'objet d'un tirage à petit nombre. Il n'est pas répertorié par Sabin ni par Cordier.
Originaire d'Issoudun dans le Val-de-Loire, Auguste Borget (1808-1877) fut un ami intime de Balzac et de Zulma Carraud. Élève de Boichard père et de Théodore Gudin, il débuta au Salon de 1836 où il exposa jusqu'en 1859 les œuvres qu'il peignit au cours de ses voyages. En 1836, il s'embarqua pour une circumnavigation qui le mena de New York aux Indes, en passant par les contrées sud-américaines, la Chine, Manille, Singapour et le détroit de Malacca, puis regagna Paris à l'été 1840.
Les planches représentent les divers lieux visités par Borget : moulins à vent sur les bords de la rivière Hudson, l'église Notre-Dame de Gloire à Rio de Janeiro, une rue de Buenos-Aires en Argentine, une autre à Lima au Pérou, un marché à Canton, la plage d'Honolulu à Hawaï, un pont et un village aux environs de Manille aux Philippines, etc. Chacune d'entre elles est accompagnée d'un feuillet de texte explicatif.
Exemplaire bien complet du feuillet explicatif pour la planche n°10, lequel manque souvent.
Petites retouches au cartonnage.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue