Chinese carpet (cotton warp and weft, wool... - Lot 149 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 149
Got to lot
Estimation :
300 - 500 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 585EUR
Chinese carpet (cotton warp and weft, wool... - Lot 149 - Binoche et Giquello
Chinese carpet (cotton warp and weft, wool pile), probably from the Peking region, north-east China, circa 1930
The carpet is decorated with a central rosette of a dragon on a yellow background with flowers in jars, vases with lotus flowers and stylised polychrome rosettes. A blue border with polychrome floral decoration and a border with a succession of ivory cartouches with floral motifs surround the composition.
3,56 x 2,68 m (Wear, old restorations and damaged edges) "Beijing, the capital of China, is situated in the south-west of a small plain which appears to be an extension of the vast plain of northern China covering the province of Hebei and most of the provinces of Henan, Shandong and Anhui. It is, like Shanghai and Tianjin, an autonomous commune. It seems that since the beginning of the historical times of the Beijing region was an important passage between the centers of the great plain of the Yellow River and the mountainous regions of the northeast.
Remains of an early settlement have been discovered near the present Marco Polo Bridge. The city's past was eventful. Capital under the name of Ji in IVth BC, it is destroyed in 226 BC, then reappears at the time of Han under the name of Yan.
It takes again its title of capital under Tang (618-907), Khitans (936-1122) and Djurtches in 1153. (...)
Beijing has a number of factories that knot classical Chinese type carpets or pieces with designs called floral or aesthetic, also produced in other cities in China such as Shanghai and Tianjin."
Bibliographic Reference:
E. Gans-Ruedin, Le tapis de Chine, Office du Livre- Editions Vilo, Paris, 1981, p.97-98.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Tapis Chinois (chaîne et trame en coton,... - Lot 149 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 149
Aller au lot
Estimation :
300 - 500 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 585EUR
Tapis Chinois (chaîne et trame en coton,... - Lot 149 - Binoche et Giquello
Tapis Chinois (chaîne et trame en coton, velours en laine), probablement de la région de Pékin, Nord-est de la Chine, vers 1930
Le tapis est orné d'une rosace centrale à décor d'un dragon sur fond jaune à décor de fleurs dans des jarres, de vases avec des fleurs de lotus et de rosaces polychromes stylisées. Une bordure bleue à décor floral polychrome et une bordure à succession de cartouches ivoire à motifs floraux cernent la composition.
3,56 x 2,68 m (Usures, anciennes restaurations et lisières abimées) «Beijing, capitale la Chine, est située au sud-ouest d'une petite plaine qui apparait comme le prolongement de la vaste plaine de la Chine septentrionale couvrant la province du Hebei et la majeure partie des provinces du Henan, du Shandong et de l'Anhui.  C'est, comme Shangaï et Tianjin, une commune autonome. Il semble que dès le début des temps historiques de la région de Beijing ait constitué un lieu de passage important entre les centres de grande plaine du fleuve Jaune et les régions montagneuses du nord-est.
Des vestiges d'une première agglomération ont été découverts à proximité de l'actuel pont Marco Polo. Le   passé de la ville fut mouvementé. Capitale sous le nom de Ji au IVe av. J-C, elle est détruite en 226 av JC, puis réapparait à, l'époque des Han sous le nom de Yan.
Elle reprend son titre de capitale sous les Tang (618-907), les Khitans (936-1122) et les Djurtches en 1153. (...)
Beijing compte un certain nombre de manufactures qui nouent des tapis de type classique chinois ou des pièces à dessins appelés floraux ou esthétiques, produits aussi en d'autres villes de Chine telles que Shangai et Tianjin.»
Référence Bibliographique :
E. Gans-Ruedin, Le tapis de Chine, Office du Livre- Editions Vilo, Paris, 1981, p.97-98.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue