Merial Psalter. In French, illuminated manuscript... - Lot 18 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 18
Got to lot
Estimation :
200000 - 250000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 247 332EUR
Merial Psalter. In French, illuminated manuscript... - Lot 18 - Binoche et Giquello
Merial Psalter.
In French, illuminated manuscript on parchment.
France, Paris, ca. 1520-1530.
With 7 large miniatures by the artist designated as "Principal Executor of the Statutes of the Order of St. Michael", close to the "Colaud Group", sometimes designated as "privileged associate of Etienne Colaud" 166 ff, with ff. 164-166 blank except for a provenance mark on the front of f. 166, leaves preceded and followed by two paper endpapers, complete manuscript [collation: i2, ii8+1 (singleton inserted at the beginning of the quire), iii-xxi8], very fine parchment, humanistic handwriting in brown ink, of great regularity by a very careful calligrapher, 22 long lines per page (justification: 55 x 90 mm), ruled in pale red ink, a few early signatures, rubrics in red, endpapers in red or blue with liquid gold decoration, initials 1-2 lines high painted in red or blue with liquid gold decoration, larger initials marking major serial divisions drawn in liquid gold on a blue background with white highlights, a large initial introducing Psalm 1, initial B painted in blue with white highlights on a dark red background with gold decoration (5 lines high), with 7 LARGE MINIATURES inscribed in illuminated architectural frames (the first full-page miniature, placed in the frontispiece ; the others placed above a few lines of text).
19th century binding. Full crimson velvet, boards decorated with 4 metallic spandrels and a central cabochon, spine mute, gilt edges, combed marbled paper endpapers; two metallic clasps forming the letters "P" and "J". Slight wear marks on the edges and headpieces; small crack on the upper corner of the first board. Interior in perfect condition (a few scattered stains, not serious). Manuscript in modern hinged slipcase, half red morocco, morocco lining, gilt letters on spine "Psautier d'Urfé". Binding in excellent condition.
Miniatures in superb condition. A few stains on the parchment (ff. 3v, 4, 70v).
Dimensions of the manuscript: 100 x 160 mm; dimensions of the binding: 110 x 167 mm.
Manuscript in a remarkable state of freshness with shimmering colours and ancient inscriptions from the 16th century which trace this manuscript back to a great family of Bourbonnais, that of the d'Urfé, a famous family of bibliophiles, patrons of the arts and literary figures
Beautifully calligraphed by a French hand in imitation of Italian humanism, this manuscript contains the Psalms of David followed by the texts of the hymns, illustrated with an iconographic cycle of seven miniatures painted by a Parisian artist close to Etienne Colaud, known as the "privileged associate" of Colaud, or "Principal Executor of the Statutes of the Order of St. Michael" with whom Etienne Colaud maintained close ties.
This manuscript presents a highly original iconographic cycle, as it is much more about illustrating the biography of David than the content of the biblical psalms. The Bible passages illustrating David's biography are taken from the first two books of Kings (I Samuel and II Samuel). This narrative tradition is ancient, and the most complete example in the West is undoubtedly found in a manuscript made at Cîteaux between 1109 and 1111, the Bible of Stephen Harding (Dijon, BM, 14, f. 13). It is more surprising to find this iconographic cycle in a 16th-century manuscript, and these miniatures demonstrate a real biblical culture with a studied iconographic programme.
The artist who painted this Psalter was named after the works produced for the manuscripts of the Statutes of the Order of St Michael, of which there are sixteen manuscripts and one single leaf. This artist was christened "Principal Executor of the Statutes" because he is credited with a number of manuscripts of the Statutes commissioned by King Francis I (18 manuscripts in 1523; 6 manuscripts in 1528) (see Cousseau, 2016, pp. 116-117; and earlier work by Paul Durrieu (1911)), associated in the receipts with Etienne Colaud, who undoubtedly played the role of bookseller responsible for the orders: "His activity is thus rather similar, although he does not take the title, to that of a bookseller receiving a global sum and assuming the role of intermediary between the various executors..." (Cousseau, 2016, p. 118). Our artist, the "Principal Executor of the Statutes" was to be under the orders or at least "principal associate" in this task: Colaud also had recourse to other Parisian artists to assist him, such as artists of the "Bellemare Group" (see the work of Guy-Michel Leproux). The artist known as the "Principal Executor of the Statutes" produced seven of the Statutes' manuscripts: this set is described by Cousseau who concludes: "He [Etienne Colaud] is therefore not, as one might have thought
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Psautier férial. En français, manuscrit enluminé... - Lot 18 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 18
Aller au lot
Estimation :
200000 - 250000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 247 332EUR
Psautier férial. En français, manuscrit enluminé... - Lot 18 - Binoche et Giquello
Psautier férial.
En français, manuscrit enluminé sur parchemin.
France, Paris, vers 1520-1530.
Avec 7 grandes miniatures par l'artiste désigné comme «Exécutant principal des Statuts de l'Ordre de Saint-Michel», proche du «Groupe Colaud», parfois désigné comme «associé privilégié d'Etienne Colaud» 166 ff., avec ff. 164-166 blancs à l'exception d'une marque de provenance au recto du f. 166, feuillets précédés et suivis de deux feuillets de garde de papier, manuscrit complet [collation : i2, ii8+1 (singleton inséré en début de cahier), iii-xxi8], parchemin très fin, écriture humaniste à l'encre brune, d'une grande régularité par un calligraphe fort soigné, 22 longues lignes par page (justification : 55 x 90 mm), réglure à l'encre rouge pâle, quelques signatures anciennes, rubriques en rouge, bout-de-lignes en rouge ou bleu avec décor doré à l'or liquide, initiales de 1- à 2 lignes de hauteur peintes en rouge ou bleu avec décor doré à l'or liquide, plus grandes initiales marquant les grandes divisions fériales tracées à l'or liquide sur un fond bleu avec rehauts blancs, une grande initiale introduisant le psaume 1, initiale B peinte en bleu avec rehauts blancs sur un fond rouge foncé avec décor doré (5 lignes de hauteur), avec 7 GRANDES MINIATURES inscrites dans des encadrements architecturaux enluminés (la première miniature à pleine page, placée en frontispice ; les autres placées au-dessus de quelques lignes de texte).
Reliure du XIXe siècle. Plein velours cramoisi, plats ornés de 4 écoinçons métalliques ouvragés et un cabochon central, dos muet, tranches dorées, gardes de papier marbré peigné ; deux fermoirs métalliques ouvragés formant les lettres «P» et «J». Légères marques d'usure sur les coupes et aux coiffes ; petite fente au mors supérieur du premier plat. Intérieur en parfait état (quelques taches éparses, sans gravité). Manuscrit sous emboîtage moderne articulé, demi-maroquin rouge, doublure de maroquin, lettres dorées au dos «Psautier d'Urfé». Reliure en excellent état de conservation.
Miniatures en superbe état. Quelques taches sans gravité au parchemin (ff. 3v, 4, 70v).
Dimensions du manuscrit : 100 x 160 mm ; dimensions de la reliure : 110 x 167 mm.
Manuscrit dans un état de fraîcheur remarquable avec des couleurs chatoyantes et des inscriptions anciennes du XVIe siècle qui font remonter ce manuscrit à une grande famille du Bourbonnais, celle des d'Urfé, célèbre famille de bibliophiles, de mécènes et de littérateurs.
Admirablement calligraphié par une main française imitant l'humanistique italienne, ce manuscrit contient les Psaumes de David suivis des textes des cantiques, illustrés d'un cycle iconographique de sept miniatures peintes par un artiste parisien proche d'Etienne Colaud, dit «l'associé privilégié» de Colaud, ou «Exécutant principal des Statuts de l'Ordre de Saint-Michel» avec lequel Etienne Colaud entretenait des liens étroits.
Ce manuscrit présente un cycle iconographique fort original, car il s'agit bien plus d'illustrer la biographie de David, que le contenu des psaumes bibliques. Les passages de la Bible illustrant la biographie de David sont empruntés aux deux premiers Livres des Rois (I Samuel et II Samuel). Cette tradition narrative est ancienne, et l'exemple le plus achevé en Occident se trouve sans doute dans un manuscrit confectionné à Cîteaux entre 1109 et 1111, la Bible d'Etienne Harding (Dijon, BM, 14, f. 13) : elle connut un beau développement à l'époque romane, puis s'étiola. Il est plus étonnant de retrouver ce cycle iconographique dans un manuscrit du XVIe siècle et ces miniatures démontrent une culture biblique réelle avec un programme iconographique étudié.
L'artiste qui a peint ce Psautier fut baptisé d'après les oeuvres réalisées pour les manuscrits des Statuts de l'ordre de Saint-Michel dont on recense seize manuscrits et un feuillet isolé. Cet artiste fut baptisé «Exécuteur principal des Statuts» car on lui attribue un certain nombre de manuscrits des Statuts commandés par le roi François Ier (18 manuscrits en 1523 ; 6 manuscrits en 1528) (voir Cousseau, 2016, pp. 116-117 ; et travaux antérieurs de Paul Durrieu (1911)), associés dans les quittances à Etienne Colaud, qui joua sans doute le rôle de libraire responsable des commandes : «Son activité s'apparente donc plutôt, bien qu'il n'en prenne pas le titre, à celle d'un libraire recevant une somme globale et assumant le rôle d'intermédiaire entre les divers exécutants...» (Cousseau, 2016, p. 118). Notre artiste, «l'Exécutant principal des Statuts» devait être sous les ordres ou du moins «associé principal» dans cette tâche : Colaud eut recours aussi à d'autres artistes parisiens pour le seconder, tels des artistes du «Groupe Bellemare» (voir les travaux de Guy-Michel Leproux). L'artiste dit «Exécutant principal des Statuts» a réalisé sept des manuscrits des Statuts : cet ensemble est décrit par Cousseau qui conclut : «Il [Etienne Colaud] n'est donc pas, comme on avait pu
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue