HUGO (Victor).

Lot 46
Got to lot
Estimation :
2500 - 3000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 4 550EUR
HUGO (Victor).
Ruy Blas. Paris, H. Delloye ; Leipzig, Brockhaus et Avenarius, 1838. In-8, green half-chagrin with small corners, spine decorated, crowned numeral at the end, marbled edges (Binding of the time).
First edition.
Ruy Blas was created on November 8, 1838 for the inauguration of the Renaissance theatre, co-founded by the author, with Frédérick Lemaître in the title role. Théophile Gautier, enchanted, wrote about it that it was the most beautiful play since the Cid.
The play was banned under the Second Empire and it was not performed again until 1872 (with Sarah Bernhardt in the role of the Queen of Spain). Since 1879, it has been included in the repertoire of the Comédie-Française.
A very fine and precious copy, bound in the cipher of Henri d'Orléans, Duke of Aumale (1822-1897).
An attractive provenance for this eminent bibliophile, whose almost all books are kept in his museum-library in Chantilly, and who, like Hugo a little later, was forced into exile after the 1848 Revolution and the election of Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte.
The copy is enriched by an autograph note from Victor Hugo addressed to Monsieur Berton, written on blue paper and dated Hauteville House, December 15, 1869 (one page in-12). The addressee of this note seems to be the actor Francisque Berton (1820-1874); Victor Hugo tells him of his worries after his Ruy Blas was banned in France (in December 1867): The difficulties are great for mounting Ruy Blas, for I doubt that with the present dispersion of talents and in the absence of a complete troupe, one should succeed. Absent, I let it happen. Believe that I will always be happy if it is given to me to contribute to the success of your talent so justly applauded.
Some light freckling.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

HUGO (Victor).

Lot 46
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2500 - 3000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 4 550EUR

HUGO (Victor).

Ruy Blas. Paris, H. Delloye ; Leipzig, Brockhaus et Avenarius, 1838. In-8, demi-chagrin vert avec petits coins, dos orné, chiffre couronné en queue, tranches marbrées (Reliure de l'époque).
Édition originale.
Ruy Blas fut créé le 8 novembre 1838 pour l'inauguration du théâtre de la Renaissance, co-fondé par l'auteur, avec Frédérick Lemaître dans le rôle-titre. Théophile Gautier, enchanté, écrira à son sujet qu'il s'agit de la plus belle pièce de théâtre qui ait été faite depuis le Cid.
La pièce fut interdite sous le Second Empire et il fallut attendre 1872 pour qu'elle soit de nouveau jouée (avec Sarah Bernhardt dans le rôle de la reine d'Espagne). Depuis 1879, elle est inscrite au répertoire de la Comédie-Française.
Très bel et précieux exemplaire, relié au chiffre d'Henri d'Orléans, duc d'Aumale (1822-1897).
Séduisante provenance que celle de cet éminent bibliophile, dont la quasi-totalité des livres sont conservés dans son musée-bibliothèque de Chantilly, et qui, comme Hugo un peu plus tard, fut contraint à l'exil après la Révolution de 1848 et l'élection de Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte.
L'exemplaire est enrichi d'un billet autographe de Victor Hugo adressé à Monsieur Berton, écrit sur papier bleu et daté de Hauteville House, 15 décembre 1869 (une page in-12). Le destinataire de ce billet semble être le comédien Francisque Berton (1820-1874) ; Victor Hugo lui fait part de ses inquiétudes après que son Ruy Blas ait été interdit en France (en décembre 1867) : Les difficultés sont grandes pour monter Ruy Blas car je doute qu'avec la dispersion actuelle des talents et en l'absence d'une troupe complète, on faille y parvenir. Absent, je laisse faire. Croyez que je serai toujours heureux s'il m'est donné de contribuer aux succès de votre talent si justement applaudi.
Quelques rousseurs claires.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue