HUGO (Victor).

Lot 35
Got to lot
Estimation :
1200 - 1500 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 1 769EUR
HUGO (Victor).
Hernani ou L'Honneur castillan. Paris, Mame and Delaunay-Vallée, 1830. In-8, red morocco, title laid out in the Chinese style with white oeser on the spine and the first cover, original composition on the boards and the spine painted with white and grey gouache, with black highlights, the first cover decorated with a piece of leather cut out evoking a fortress, which is entirely enhanced with gouache, untrimmed, cover and back (E. Descamps).
First edition of this drama created on February 25, 1830 at the Comédie-Française. The premiere was the occasion of a ruckus orchestrated by the young romantics and a battle led by Théophile Gautier and his famous red waistcoat.
Hernani is the first original romantic drama staged at the Théâtre-Français - after Alfred de Vigny's verse translation of The More of Venice, on October 24, 1829, which was performed sixteen times. This was a milestone in the history of the theatre; the Romantics imposed themselves against the resistance of the classics, a resistance that had been shaken by the success of the English company that had triumphed in Shakespeare shortly before (En français dans le texte, n°244).
Théophile Gautier, in his Histoire du romantisme (1874), remembers this memorable battle: "Despite the terror inspired by Hugo's band, spread out in small squads and easily recognizable by their eccentric fits and ferocious airs, that deaf rumour of agitated crowds was buzzing in the hall [...]. It was February 25, 1830, the day of Hernani, a date that no Romantic has forgotten and that the classics may remember, for the struggle was fierce on both sides. For this generation, Hernani was what the Cid was for Corneille's contemporaries. Everything that was young, valiant, amorous, poetic, received its breath.
A copy bound in pamphlet form, enriched with an autograph note in Victor Hugo's hand, which relates these incidents: in 1830, at Hernani, a man was whistling. Suddenly, he took his key out of his mouth, and shouted: this does not mean: it is bad; it means: it is new.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

HUGO (Victor).

Lot 35
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1200 - 1500 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 1 769EUR

HUGO (Victor).

Hernani ou L'Honneur castillan. Paris, Mame et Delaunay-Vallée, 1830. In-8, maroquin rouge, titre disposé à la chinoise à l'oeser blanc sur le dos et le premier plat, composition originale sur les plats et le dos peinte à la gouache blanche et grise, avec rehauts de noir, le premier plat orné d'une pièce de cuir découpé évoquant une forteresse, laquelle est entièrement rehaussée de gouache, non rogné, couverture et dos (E. Descamps).
Édition originale de ce drame créé le 25 février 1830 à la Comédie-Française. La première fut l'occasion d'un chahut orchestré par les jeunes romantiques et d'une bataille menée par Théophile Gautier et son célèbre gilet rouge.
Hernani est le premier drame romantique original monté au Théâtre-Français - après la traduction en vers du More de Venise par Alfred de Vigny, le 24 octobre 1829, jouée seize fois. C'est une date dans l'histoire du théâtre ; les romantiques s'imposent contre la résistance des classiques, résistance ébranlée par le succès de la troupe anglaise ayant fait triompher Shakespeare peu auparavant (En français dans le texte, n°244).
Théophile Gautier, dans son Histoire du romantisme (1874), se souvient de cette bataille mémorable : Malgré la terreur qu'inspirait la bande d'Hugo répandue par petites escouades et facilement reconnaissable à ses ajustements excentriques et à ses airs féroces, bourdonnait dans la salle cette sourde rumeur des foules agitées [...]. C'était le 25 février 1830, le jour d'Hernani, une date qu'aucun romantique n'a oubliée et dont les classiques se souviennent peut-être, car la lutte fut acharnée de part et d'autre. Pour cette génération, Hernani a été ce que fut le Cid pour les contemporains de Corneille. Tout ce qui était jeune, vaillant, amoureux, poétique, en reçut le souffle.
Exemplaire relié sur brochure, enrichi d'un billet autographe de la main de Victor Hugo qui rapporte ces incidents: en 1830, à Hernani, un homme sifflait. Tout à coup, il ôta sa clef de sa bouche, et cria : cela ne veut pas dire : c'est mauvais ; cela veut dire : c'est nouveau.
Rousseurs.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue