LESAGE (Alain-René), Jacques-Philippe d'ORNEVAL, Louis FUZELIER et Denis CAROLET.

Lot 17
Got to lot
Estimation :
4000 - 6000 EUR
LESAGE (Alain-René), Jacques-Philippe d'ORNEVAL, Louis FUZELIER et Denis CAROLET.
Le Théâtre de la Foire, ou l'Opéra-comique. Contenant les meilleures Pièces qui ont été représentées aux Foires de S. Germain & de S. Laurent. Paris, 1724-1737. 10 volumes in-12, lemon morocco, triple gilt fillet, coat of arms in the centre, smooth spine decorated with grotesque style, brown title and tomaison pieces, gilt border inside, gilt edges (Binding of the period).
Very rare and important work, illustrated with a frontispiece and 84 intaglio figures, most of them engraved after Bonnart fils, and embellished with 637 pages of engraved music.
First edition for volumes IV to X, and reissue for volumes I to III (addressed to Pierre Gandouin, 1737)
The collection contains a selection of plays performed on the trestles of the Saint-Germain and Saint-Laurent fairs, the two most important ones in Paris before the Revolution. It was in these places of entertainment, where rope dancers, puppet and animal showmen, acrobatic rats, gargoytiers, cabaretiers, travelling charlatans and tricksters rubbed shoulders, that the real fairground theatre was born in 1678, a new dramatic genre which, under the impetus of Lesage, in particular, was to become the Opéra-Comique in the 18th century (see the Memoirs of Jean Monnet, director of the Théâtre de la Foire, 1884, pp. 14-35).
An exceptional copy in lemon morocco with the arms of Béatrix de Choiseul-Stainville, duchess of Gramont (1729-1794). It is complete with all its engravings and pages of engraved music, and was enriched at the time with 8 figures by Marillier.
Quentin-Bauchart does not mention this copy in his list (t. II, pp. 105-122), but the other volumes he cites indicate that the duchess of Gramont was a distinguished bibliophile and had built up an interesting literary library in which the theatre occupied an important place. This provenance is all the more attractive when one knows that the duke of Choiseul, her brother, then minister of Louis XVI, had offered a plot of land on which was built in 1783 the theatre of the Opéra-Comique - the first Salle Favart - in exchange for a perpetual box which undoubtedly benefited the duchess and which her descendants still occupy since more than two centuries.
Some browning, small wormholes (notably in volume I with deletion of pagination on folio D4), tear without missing on the edge of folio X6 in volume IX, a few pages of music cut a little short at the head in volume VI. Some chips and rubbing to the binding, small scratch on the second cover of volume X.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

LESAGE (Alain-René), Jacques-Philippe d'ORNEVAL, Louis FUZELIER et Denis CAROLET.

Lot 17
Aller au lot
Estimation :
4000 - 6000 EUR

LESAGE (Alain-René), Jacques-Philippe d'ORNEVAL, Louis FUZELIER et Denis CAROLET.

Le Théâtre de la Foire, ou l'Opéra-comique. Contenant les meilleures Pièces qui ont été représentées aux Foires de S. Germain & de S. Laurent. Paris, 1724-1737. 10 volumes in-12, maroquin citron, triple filet doré, armoiries au centre, dos lisse orné à la grotesque, pièces de titre et de tomaison brunes, roulette dorée intérieure, tranches dorées (Reliure de l'époque).
Très rare et important ouvrage, illustré d'un frontispice et 84 figures en taille-douce, la majeure partie gravée d'après Bonnart fils, et agrémenté de 637 pages de musique gravée.
Édition originale pour les tomes IV à X, et réédition pour les tomes I à III (à l'adresse de Pierre Gandouin, 1737).
Le recueil contient un choix de pièces jouées sur les tréteaux des foires de Saint-Germain et de Saint-Laurent, les deux plus importantes du Paris d'avant la Révolution. C'est dans ces lieux de spectacles, où se côtoyaient les danseurs de corde, les montreurs de marionnettes et d'animaux, les rats acrobates, les gargotiers, cabaretiers, charlatans ambulants et filous, que naquit en 1678 le véritable théâtre forain, nouveau genre dramatique qui, sous l'impulsion de Lesage, en particulier, deviendra au XVIIIe siècle l'Opéra-Comique (voir les Mémoires de Jean Monnet, directeur du Théâtre de la Foire, 1884, pp. 14-35).
Exceptionnel exemplaire en maroquin citron aux armes de Béatrix de Choiseul-Stainville, duchesse de Gramont (1729-1794). Il est complet de toutes ses gravures et pages de musique gravée, et a été enrichi à l'époque de 8 figures de Marillier.
Quentin-Bauchart ne signale pas cet exemplaire dans sa liste (t. II, pp. 105-122), mais les autres volumes qu'il cite indiquent que la duchesse de Gramont était une bibliophile distinguée et avait constitué une intéressante bibliothèque littéraire au sein de laquelle le théâtre occupait une place importante. Cette provenance est d'autant plus séduisante lorsque l'on sait que le duc de Choiseul, son frère, alors ministre de Louis XVI, avait offert un terrain sur lequel fut construit en 1783 le théâtre de l'Opéra-Comique - la première salle Favart - en échange d'une loge perpétuelle qui profita sans doute à la duchesse et que les descendants occupent toujours depuis plus de deux siècles.
Quelques brunissures, petits trous de vers (notamment au tome I avec suppression de pagination au feuillet D4), déchirure sans manque sur le bord du feuillet X6 au tome IX, quelques pages de musique coupées un peu court en tête au tome VI. Quelques éclats et frottements à la reliure, petite éraflure sur le second plat du tome X.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue