Couple of commemorative statues, Bamileke... - Lot 50 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 50
Got to lot
Estimation :
80000 - 120000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 136 500EUR
Couple of commemorative statues, Bamileke... - Lot 50 - Binoche et Giquello
Couple of commemorative statues, Bamileke people, Cameroon
First half of the 20th century
Wood
H. 94 and 97 cm
Bamileke couple of commemorative statues, Cameroon
H. 38 ¼ in and 37 in
Publication :
- Raymond Lecoq, Les Bamiléké, 1953, Editions Africaines, cover & PP. 126-127 n°96-97
The male figure is overall smaller than the female figure. Both are represented seated. The woman's shoulders are wider than the man's. The man's nose is smaller, thinner and more pointed than the woman's, which is more pronounced and has larger wings. The eyes, which are wide open and surrounded by distinct lids, and the circular mouths are very similar, as are the shape of the ears, although those of the male are proportionately somewhat smaller. The male wears a knobbed cap to indicate his status as chief. The aesthetic placement of the neck at the junction of the shoulders and the way it tapers to a point at the front is remarkable.
A crack in the wood runs along the neck of the male figure. On both objects, the shoulders, which are broad in relation to the narrow torsos, are particularly harmonious. A figure carrying a Tikar/Majung kota nut bowl about 56 cm high and 30 cm wide in the Portland Art Museum (70. 10.33)1 shows many similarities to these two Bamileke figures in the configuration of the shoulders, upper body and neck. The existence of influences from other "style zones" on Bamileke art is widely known. Women's hairstyles seem to have been influenced by Bamum hairstyles and dance headdresses. This influence can also be seen in the masks of the Eastern Bangwa.2 Two memorial figures from Batufam, in the southwestern part of the Bamileke region, also had grooved and furrowed headdresses, as shown in an in situ photograph.3
Engraved designs adorn the upper arms and upper chest of the female figure. Examples of tattoos on the upper body of women in the Bamileke zone are known from field photographs (see Egerton, 1938, page 247, #83 and #84 "women with scarred backs"; page 106, #31 and #32, "scarred mothers with a child", and Lecoq, 1953/1998, "Au marché. Note the scarifications", #23). Women have emblems of their social status engraved on their skin, sometimes as indicators of their family status or the number of children they have, or simply as decoration, and sometimes as small scars from cuts made by healers. The highly structured patterns on the upper body of this female figure with child are nevertheless a rarity. Were they added by an artisan other than the original carver? These circular and oval shapes are indications of rank more often seen on insignia of notables, chiefs or high-ranking Grassland women. For example, they are often incised in relief on drinking horns. There are also quite old figures of chiefs from the Bamileke region that have motifs engraved on the upper body and/or the upper arm (examples: Statue of Fon, Bal'owen in Banka, 116 cm, in the Landesmuseum Hannover [IV 55.541], according to Harter, 1986, page 259, #292; Statue of an ancestor. Batié, 115 cm, 19th century, the ancestor figure of a chief has relief motifs on the upper arms and chest, including the toad symbol; illustrated in Lecoq 1953/1998, page 135, #105).
The arms of both figures are long and very thin. Individual phalanges are rendered on their short, powerful hands. This could be the mark of a particular sculptor. This is also the case with the distinctive, elongated feet of both figures.4 Queen Bangwa and her "partner," a chiefly figure in a high pommel hat, have paw-like feet in comparison. The Bangwa Queen and her "partner," a chiefly figure in a high buttoned hat, have paw-like feet. It is assumed that these are representations of leopard skin strips and allude to the supernatural powers he acquires during the rites of passage associated with his enthronement. It is believed that through his connection to an animal "alter ego", such as a leopard in the wild, which possesses certain specific attributes, the chief acquires these supernatural powers that help him in real life and give him sacred and superhuman protective abilities. This is both a metaphor and a concrete belief in that it is considered possible for Grasslands chiefs to transform themselves into animals, such as pythons, elephants or leopards.
The male Bamileke figure shown here holds a skull in one hand and a calabash in the other.
The breasts of the female figure
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Couple de statues commémoratives, Peuple...

Lot 50
Aller au lot
Estimation :
80000 - 120000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

Couple de statues commémoratives, Peuple...

Couple de statues commémoratives, Peuple Bamiléké, Cameroun
Première moitié du xxe siècle
Bois
H. 94 et 97 cm
Bamileke couple of commemorative statues, Cameroon
H. 38 ¼ in and 37 in
Publication :
- Raymond Lecoq, Les Bamiléké, 1953, Editions Africaines, couverture & PP. 126-127 n°96-97
La figure masculine est globalement plus petite que la figure féminine. Tous deux sont représentés assis. Les épaules de la femme sont plus larges que celles de l'homme. Le nez de l'homme est plus petit, plus fin et plus pointu que celui de la femme, qui est plus prononcé et doté d'ailes plus grandes. Les yeux, largement ouverts et entourés de paupières distinctes, et les bouches circulaires sont très similaires, tout comme la forme des oreilles, bien que celles du mâle soient proportionnellement un peu plus petites. Le mâle porte un bonnet à pommeau qui indique son statut de chef. L'emplacement esthétique du cou à la jonction des épaules et la manière dont il se rétrécit en pointe à l'avant sont remarquables.
Une fissure dans le bois longe le cou de la figure masculine. Sur les deux objets, les épaules, qui sont larges par rapport aux torses étroits, sont particulièrement harmonieuses. Une figure portant un bol de noix Tikar/Majung kota d'environ 56 cm de haut et 30 cm de large conservée au Portland Art Museum (70. 10.33)1 présente de nombreuses similitudes avec ces deux figures Bamileke dans la configuration des épaules, du haut du corps et du cou. L'existence d'influences d'autres "zones de style" sur l'art bamiléké est largement connue. La coiffure de la femme semble avoir été influencée par les coiffures et les couvre-chefs de danse de Bamum. Cette influence peut également être observée sur les masques des Bangwa de l'Est.2 Deux figures commémoratives de Batufam, dans la partie sud-ouest de la région Bamileke, étaient également dotées de coiffures striées et sillonnées, comme le montre une photographie in situ.3
Des motifs gravés ornent le haut des bras et le haut de la poitrine de la figure féminine. Des exemples de tatouages sur le haut du corps des femmes de la zone Bamiléké sont connus grâce à des photos de terrain (voir Egerton, 1938, page 247, #83 et #84 " femmes au dos cicatrisé " ; page 106, #31 et #32, " mères cicatrisées avec un enfant ", et Lecoq, 1953/1998, " Au marché. A noter les scarifications", n°23). Les femmes se font graver sur la peau des emblèmes de leur statut social, qui sont parfois des indicateurs de leur statut familial ou du nombre d'enfants qu'elles ont, ou simplement décoratifs, et il s'agit parfois de petites cicatrices provenant de coupures faites par des guérisseurs. Les motifs très structurés sur le haut du corps de cette figure féminine avec enfant sont néanmoins une rareté. Ont-ils été ajoutés par un artisan autre que le sculpteur original ? Ces formes circulaires et ovales sont des indications de rang plus souvent observées sur des objets insignes de notables, de chefs ou de femmes de haut rang des Grasslands. On les voit par exemple souvent incisées en relief sur des cornes à boire. Il existe par ailleurs des figures assez anciennes de chefs de la région Bamiléké qui présentent des motifs gravés sur le haut du corps et/ou le haut du bras (exemples : Statue Commémorative de fon, Bal'owen à Banka, 116 cm, au Landesmuseum Hannover [IV 55.541], d'après Harter, 1986, page 259, #292 ; Statue d'ancetre. Batié, 115 cm, 19e siècle, la figure d'ancêtre d'un chef présente des motifs en relief sur le haut des bras et la poitrine, dont le symbole du crapaud ; illustré dans Lecoq 1953/1998, page 135, #105).
Les bras des deux personnages sont longs et très fins. Des phalanges individuelles sont rendues sur leurs mains courtes et puissantes. Cela pourrait être la marque d'un sculpteur particulier. C'est également le cas des pieds distinctifs et allongés des deux personnages.4 La reine Bangwa et son "partenaire", un personnage de chef coiffé d'un haut chapeau à pommeau, ont des pieds semblables à des pattes en comparaison. La reine Bangwa et son "partenaire", un personnage de chef coiffé d'une haute coiffe à boutons, ont des pieds semblables à des pattes. On suppose qu'il s'agit de représentations de bandes de peau de léopard et qu'elles font allusion aux pouvoirs surnaturels qu'il acquiert lors des rites de passage associés à son intronisation. On pense que, grâce à son lien avec un "alter ego" animal, comme un léopard dans la nature, qui possède certains attributs spécifiques, le chef acquiert ces pouvoirs surnaturels qui l'aident dans la vie réelle et lui confèrent des capacités de protection sacrées et surhumaines. Il s'agit à la fois d'une métaphore et d'une croyance concrète dans la mesure où il est jugé possible pour les chefs des Grasslands de se transformer en animaux, comme le python, l'éléphant ou le léopard.
La figure Bamileke masculine présentée ici tient un crâne dans une main et une calebasse dans l'autre.
Les seins de la figure fémini
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue