Anthropomorphic figure, Okvik culture, Old... - Lot 11 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 11
Got to lot
Estimation :
20000 - 30000 EUR
Anthropomorphic figure, Okvik culture, Old... - Lot 11 - Binoche et Giquello
Anthropomorphic figure, Okvik culture, Old Bering Sea I,
St Lawrence Island, Bering Strait, Alaska
Archaic Eskimo, 100 BC - 250 A.D.
Marine ivory
H. 13.5 cm - W. 3.5 cm
Okvik anthropomorphic figure, Old Bering Sea I,
St Lawrence Island, Bering Strait, Alaska
H. 5 ¼ in - W. 1 3/8 in
Provenance:
- Former private collection, France
Large Okvik "idol" with stylized features.
This hieratic fossilized ivory figure is an evocative testimony to archaic Eskimo art. This work is part of the limited corpus of large carved figures from the Okvik culture (Old Bering Sea I) that originated and developed on St. Lawrence Island (Sivuqaq) south of the Bering Strait over 2000 years ago.
This figure is a miniature giant.
In northern cultures, carved human figures are generally considered to be spiritual assistants or guides to protect against physical or supernatural dangers in the environment and to ensure the survival of the group.
The literature on the subject suggests other possible ritual uses (healing, fertility or protection of the home, transmission of knowledge).
According to accounts collected on the island of Saint-Laurent, the cradle of the Okvik culture, guardian spirits communicated with humans during dreams or trances and indicated the ceremonies to be planned in order to avoid illness, ensure the success of hunting expeditions and the abundance of food. The Siberian Chukchi believed that guardian spirits could come to life by incarnating themselves in carved human or animal figures.
The amount of ethnographic data collected on the subject and the care and refinement of the ivory figures collected suggest that these carvings played a protean and complex role in the archaic cultures of the Bering Strait.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Figure anthropomorphe, Culture Okvik, Old...

Lot 11
Aller au lot
Estimation :
20000 - 30000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

Figure anthropomorphe, Culture Okvik, Old...

Figure anthropomorphe, Culture Okvik, Old Bering Sea I,
Ile de Saint Laurent, Détroit de Bering, Alaska
Eskimo archaïque, 100 avant J.-C. - 250 après J.-C.
Ivoire marin
H. 13,5 cm - l. 3,5 cm
Okvik anthropomorphic figure, Old Bering Sea I,
St Lawrence Island, Bering Strait, Alaska
H. 5 ¼ in - l. 1 3/8 in
Provenance :
- Ancienne collection particulière, France
Grande «idole» Okvik aux traits stylisés.
Cette figure hiératique en ivoire fossilisé constitue un témoignage évocateur de l'art eskimo archaïque. Cette œuvre s'inscrit dans le corpus restreint des grandes figures sculptées de la culture Okvik (Old Bering Sea I) qui est née et s'est développée sur l'île de Saint-Laurent (Sivuqaq) au sud du Détroit de Béring il y a plus de 2000 ans.
Cette figure est un géant miniature.
Dans les cultures du Grand Nord, les figures humaines sculptées sont généralement considérées comme des assistants ou guides spirituels permettant de se protéger contre les dangers physiques ou surnaturels de l'environnement et assurant la survie du groupe.
La littérature sur le sujet propose encore d'autres usages rituels possibles (guérison, fertilité ou protection du foyer, transmission de savoirs).
Selon les récits collectés sur l'île de Saint-Laurent, berceau de la culture Okvik, les esprits gardiens communiquaient avec les humains lors de rêves ou de transes et indiquaient les cérémonies à prévoir pour éviter les maladies, assurer le succès des expéditions de chasse et la profusion de nourriture. Les Chukchi de Sibérie pensaient que les esprits gardiens pouvaient prendre vie en s'incarnant dans des figures sculptées humaines ou animales.
La somme de données ethnographiques recueillies sur le sujet et le soin et raffinement des figures en ivoire collectées laissent à penser que ces sculptures jouaient un rôle protéiforme et complexe dans les cultures archaïques du Détroit de Béring.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue