Ɵ Ibeji Statuette, Yoruba People, Nigeria... - Lot 50 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 50
Got to lot
Estimation :
20000 - 35000 EUR
Ɵ Ibeji Statuette, Yoruba People, Nigeria... - Lot 50 - Binoche et Giquello
Ɵ Ibeji Statuette, Yoruba People, Nigeria
Around 1860
Wood with superb patina and metals
H. 30 cm
Ibeji Figure, Yoruba, Nigeria
H. 11 1/2 in
Provenance:
- Samir Borro, Brussels
- Bernard de Grunne, Brussels
- Private collection
In Yoruba territory on the Benin-Nigeria border, twin births are said to be more frequent than in the rest of the world. Twins are considered to be almost supernatural beings, possessing only a single and unbreakable soul.
In the case of the disappearance of one of the twins, a specific cult is rendered to him through a statuette called ibeji, which has become the seat of the soul of the deceased. In the case of the death of both, it is to a couple of statuettes that the required sacrifices are offered. Etymologically, ibeji means 'born twice'.
Although a large number of ibeji statuettes have come down to us, the present one stands out for its imposing stature and the beautiful quality of its sculpture, which can be described as classical. Its muscular masses and limbs are decoupled into a superb architecture. Its superb patina bears witness to a long cult use. The erased features of the face, so often ritually washed and rubbed, reveal, however, the volume of a small beaky mouth characteristic of the style of the Igbomina populations of the centre of the country. The eyes are now indicated only by wrought-iron nails. The heavy brass bracelets on his wrists and ankles indicate the wealth of the family that once commissioned him from a master carver.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Ɵ Statuette Ibeji, Peuple Yoruba, Nigeria...

Lot 50
Aller au lot
20 000 - 35 000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

Ɵ Statuette Ibeji, Peuple Yoruba, Nigeria...

Ɵ Statuette Ibeji, Peuple Yoruba, Nigeria
Vers 1860
Bois à superbe patine d'usage et métaux
H. 30 cm
Ibeji Figure, Yoruba, Nigeria
H. 11 1/2 in
Provenance:
- Samir Borro, Bruxelles
- Bernard de Grunne, Bruxelles
- Collection privée
En territoire Yoruba sur la frontière Bénin-Nigeria, les naissances gémellaires sont, dit-on, plus fréquentes que dans le reste du monde. Les jumeaux y sont considérés comme des êtres presque surnaturels, ne possédant qu'une âme unique et insécable.
Dans le cas de la disparition de l'un des jumeaux, un culte spécifique lui est rendu par l'intermédiaire d'une statuette appelée ibeji, devenue le siège de l'âme du défunt. Dans le cas de la mort des deux, c'est à un couple de statuettes que l'on offrira les sacrifices requis. Étymologiquement, ibeji signifie « né deux fois ».
Si de très nombreuses statuettes ibeji sont parvenues jusqu'à nous, le présent exemplaire se distingue par son imposante stature et la belle qualité de sa sculpture que l'on peut qualifier de classique. Ses masses musculaires et ses membres sont découplés en une superbe architecture. Sa superbe patine témoigne d'une longue utilisation cultuelle. Les traits effacés du visage, si souvent lavé et frotté rituellement, laissent apparaître cependant le volume d'une petite bouche en bec caractéristique du style des populations Igbomina du centre du pays. Les yeux ne sont plus indiqués que par des clous de fer forgé. Les lourds bracelets de laiton ornant ses poignets et ses chevilles affirment la richesse de la famille qui le commanda jadis à un maître-sculpteur.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue