Ɵ Yaure-Baule Mask, Lo, Ivory Coast Wood... - Lot 37 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 37
Got to lot
Estimation :
70000 - 100000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 53 300EUR
Ɵ Yaure-Baule Mask, Lo, Ivory Coast Wood... - Lot 37 - Binoche et Giquello
Ɵ Yaure-Baule Mask, Lo, Ivory Coast
Wood with brown patina and metal
H. 45,7 cm
Yaure-Baule Mask, Lo, Ivory Coast
H. 18 in
Provenance:
- Collection André Fourquet, Paris
- Ader Picard Tajan, 16 octobre 1989 (lot 58)
- Merton Simpson, New York
- Collection privée
Publication:
- Leon Siroto, African Spirits Images and Identities, New York, Pace Gallery, 1976, p.77, plate 161.
Exhibition:
- African Spirits Images and Identities: Pace Gallery, New York, 1976.
This mask of great graphic purity is the fruit of the influence of Yaouré sculptors, west of Yamoussoukro, on the neighbouring Baoulé villages. This mask perfectly embodies the great classicism of the Lo style thanks to its very beautiful plastic.
On a relatively flat and wide face, all the modelling and details take on a particular relief and give this mask this striking personality in the corpus.
The hairstyle, entirely braided, is organized by five traditional arches at the top of a slightly rounded forehead. The half-closed eyelids give intensity to the face and echo the half-moon metal veneers underneath them. They are simply separated by three scarifications and a long, fine nose adding elegance to the whole.
The two small flattened areas at its tip bring it to life, above a round mouth projected forward. A scarification line covers each temple, and the influence of the Yaure can be found in the scarified, serrated frieze as well as in the goatee that surrounds and enhances the face. The face is magnified by the fine grain of the wood and the patina of use that covers it. The small animal horns are well-balanced and recall, in the Yaoure, the image of the supernatural and the occult powers.
For a comparable mask, see the Binoche and Giquello catalogue of 21 March 2018 - Lot 27 presented by A-M Boyer.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

? Masque Yaouré-Baoulé, Lo, Côte d'Ivoire... - Lot 37 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 37
Aller au lot
Estimation :
70000 - 100000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 53 300EUR
? Masque Yaouré-Baoulé, Lo, Côte d'Ivoire... - Lot 37 - Binoche et Giquello
? Masque Yaouré-Baoulé, Lo, Côte d'Ivoire
Bois à patine brune et métal
H. 45,7 cm
Yaure-Baule Mask, Lo, Ivory Coast
H. 18 in
Provenance:
- Collection André Fourquet, Paris
- Ader Picard Tajan, 16 octobre 1989 (lot 58)
- Merton Simpson, New York
- Collection privée
Publication:
- Leon Siroto, African Spirits Images and Identities, New York, Pace Gallery, 1976, p.77, planche 161.
Exposition:
- African Spirits Images and Identities: Pace Gallery, New York, 1976.
Ce masque d'une grande pureté graphique est le fruit de l'influence des sculpteurs Yaouré, à l'Ouest de Yamoussoukro, sur les villages Baoulé voisins. Ce masque incarne à la perfection le grand classicisme du style Lo grâce à sa très belle plastique.
Sur un visage relativement plat et large, tous les modelés et les détails prennent un relief particulier et donnent à ce masque cette personnalité marquante dans le corpus.
La coiffure, entièrement tressée, est organisée par cinq arcs traditionnels au sommet d'un front légèrement bombé. Les paupières mi-closes donnent de l'intensité au visage et font écho aux placages de métal en demi-lune sous celles-ci. Elles sont simplement séparées par trois scarifications et un long nez fin ajoutant de l'élégance à l'ensemble.
Les deux petits aplats à son extrémité lui donnent vie, au-dessus d'une bouche ronde projetée vers l'avant. Une ligne de scarification couvre chaque tempe, on retrouve l'influence des Yaouré dans la frise scarifiée, dentelée ainsi que dans la barbiche qui entoure et met en valeur le visage. Celui-ci est magnifié par la finesse du grain du bois et la patine d'usage qui le recouvre. Les cornes animales de petites dimensions sont bien équilibrées et viennent rappeler, chez les Yaouré, l'image du surnaturel et des puissances occultes.
Pour un masque comparable cf. Catalogue Binoche et Giquello du 21 Mars 2018 - Lot 27 présenté par A-M Boyer
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue