Mask of the Ntomo society, Bamana people,... - Lot 36 - Binoche et Giquello

Lot 36
Got to lot
Estimation :
40000 - 60000 EUR
Mask of the Ntomo society, Bamana people,... - Lot 36 - Binoche et Giquello
Mask of the Ntomo society, Bamana people, Mali
Wood with a beautiful black patina, wax.
H. 37 cm
Ntomo mask, Bamana, Mali
H. 141/2 in
Provenance:
- Emil Storrer, Zürich
- Private collection
The Bamana were a group of initiation societies that organised rites of passage for the different age groups, which explains their fundamental importance in social and religious matters. In spite of the fact that Islam was established in the region at an early age, they retained their customs and masks for a long time.
The Ntomo was responsible for the education of young men up to the age of 13 at the time of the circumcision ceremonies. It is the best known of the Bambara initiatory societies and the beauty of its masks, which were the subject of an indigenous aesthetic judgement, gives it a special notoriety in the world of lovers of traditional African arts.
The face of our mask is profiled as a contemporary design object and simply defined in three verticals and two squares for the eyes. The beautifully curved forehead is crowned with seven horns, indicating an androgynous nature. The whole is adorned with wax bands, once adorned with seeds and cowries, and covered with a deep black patina, a sign of its great antiquity. The absence of a mouth recalls the first teachings of the Ntomo society: the virtues of silence and the perfect control of speech. One of the major initiatory chants teaches that a mouth that is too free becomes the mouth of the enemy.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Masque de la société du Ntomo, Peuple Bamana,...

Lot 36
Aller au lot
40 000 - 60 000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

Masque de la société du Ntomo, Peuple Bamana,...

Masque de la société du Ntomo, Peuple Bamana, Mali
Bois à superbe patine noire, cire.
H. 37 cm
Ntomo mask, Bamana, Mali
H. 141/2 in
Provenance:
- Emil Storrer, Zürich
- Collection privée
Chez les Bamana, les sociétés d'initiation organisaient les rites de passage des classes d'âge d'où leur importance fondamentale dans les domaines sociaux et religieux. Malgré un islam implanté très tôt dans la région, elles ont longtemps conservé leurs coutumes et leurs masques.
Le Ntomo se chargeait de l'éducation des jeunes hommes jusqu'à l'âge de 13 ans au moment des cérémonies de circoncision. Il s'agit de la plus connue des sociétés initiatiques Bambara et la beauté de ses masques, qui faisaient l'objet d'un jugement esthétique autochtone, lui confère une notoriété toute particulière dans le monde des amateurs des arts africains traditionnels.
Le visage de notre masque est profilé comme un objet de design contemporain et simplement défini en trois verticales et deux carrés pour les yeux. Le front magnifiquement galbé est couronné de sept cornes, indiquant une nature androgyne. L'ensemble est orné de bandes de cire, jadis parées de graines et de cauris, et recouvert d'une patine noire profonde, témoin de sa grande ancienneté. L'absence de bouche rappelle les enseignements premiers de la société du Ntomo: les vertus du silence et le parfait contrôle de la parole. Un des chants initiatiques majeurs enseigne en effet que la bouche trop libre devient celle de l'ennemi.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue