BIDLOO (Govert).

Lot 12
Aller au lot
4 000 - 6 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 8 146 EUR

BIDLOO (Govert).

Anatomia humani corporis. Amsterdam, Widow Jean van Someren, Heirs Jean van Dyk, & Widow Theodore Boom, 1685. In-folio, stiff vellum, roulette, gilt fleuron on the corners, smooth spine decorated (Dutch binding at the time).
Choulant-Frank, pp. 250-252. - Garrison-Morton, no. 385. - Heirs of Hippocrates, n°667.
First edition of this superb anatomy book, illustrated with an allegorical frontispiece, a portrait of the author engraved by Abraham Blooteling and 105 superb copper engraved plates after Gérard de Lairesse, of which 2 folders (n°10 and 23).
Govert Bidloo (1649-1713), Dutch physicist and anatomist, was a pupil of Frédéric Ruysch and became professor of anatomy in The Hague and Leiden. His treatise on anatomy is the most beautiful of the Baroque period, magnified by artistic and spectacular fine engravings based on drawings by Gerard de Lairesse (1640-1711), the great Flemish painter of his time.
Copy preserved in its first decorated vellum binding.
Small repair on the edge of the frontispiece, no missing parts. Reinforcement at the fold of folding plate 10, plates 26 and 27 almost detached, crack on the edge of plate 57 and stains at the bottom of plate 62. Transversal tear in the Zz1 sheet without missing, small light watering on the upper edge of some sheets and boards. Lining and guards renewed, restorations at the copings and one corner, hinges split.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

BIDLOO (Govert).

Lot 12
Aller au lot
4 000 - 6 000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

BIDLOO (Govert).

Anatomia humani corporis. Amsterdam, Veuve Jean van Someren, Héritiers Jean van Dyk, & Veuve Théodore Boom, 1685. In-folio, vélin rigide, roulette, fleuron doré aux angles, dos lisse orné (Reliure hollandaise de l'époque).
Choulant-Frank, pp. 250-252. - Garrison-Morton, n°385. - Heirs of Hippocrates, n°667.
Édition originale de ce superbe livre d'anatomie, illustrée d'un frontispice allégorique, d'un portrait de l'auteur gravé par Abraham Blooteling et 105 superbes planches gravées sur cuivre d'après Gérard de Lairesse, dont 2 dépliantes (n°10 et 23).
Govert Bidloo (1649-1713), physicien et anatomiste hollandais, fut l'élève de Frédéric Ruysch et devint professeur d'anatomie à La Haye et à Leyde. Son traité d'anatomie est le plus beau de la période baroque, magnifié par des gravures artistiques et spectaculaires finement gravées d'après des dessins de Gérard de Lairesse (1640-1711), grand peintre flamand de son temps.
Exemplaire conservé dans sa première reliure en vélin décoré.
Petite réparation sur le bord du frontispice, sans manque. Renfort au pli de la planche dépliante 10, planches 26 et 27 presque détachées, fente sur le bord de la planche 57 et taches en bas de la planche 62. Déchirure transversale sans manque au feuillet Zz1, petite mouillure claire sur le bord supérieur de quelques feuillets et planches. Doublure et gardes renouvelées, restaurations aux coiffes et à un angle, charnières fendues.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue