ARISTOTE.

Lot 5
Aller au lot
3 000 - 4 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 18 171 EUR

ARISTOTE.

Libri octo physicorum. S.l.n.d. Colophon]: Krakow, Joannis Haller, 1519. In-4, fawn calf cold-stamped on ais, sets of fillets and a large roulette wheel forming a frame on the plates, the centre of the first plate decorated with a plate, that of the second with a repeated vegetal motif in sowing, remnants of clasps, spine with three ribs, title in ink on the upper edge (contemporary binding).
Extremely rare edition printed in Krakow by Jan Haller, a typographer from Nuremberg and one of the very first printers established in the Polish city. It is the Latin translation by Jean Argyropoulos († circa 1487) of Aristotle's eight books of physics: the translation by this Byzantine humanist, professor in Padua and Constantinople, first appeared in Rome in 1481.
Pretty printing in Roman characters, except for the first five lines of the title, which are in Gothic characters, with a set of initials in the manner of rubricateurs of the previous century and of the time.
The following is a continuation of the same: In libros Physicorum, De coelo & mundo, De gene. & corr., Meteororum, De anima. S.l.n.d. Strasbourg, Ulrich Morhard, September 1520.
Very rare Strasbourg edition of the translation and commentaries of Albertus Magnus (Albert of Orlamünde, not Albert the Great?), printed by Morhrard for the great Viennese bookseller Lucas Alantsee, whose name is cited in the colophon as Ductu Lucae Alantseae.
Printed in Roman characters, it is adorned on the title with a beautiful woodcut frame dated 1519.
A precious copy bringing together two very rare editions of Aristotle, abundantly annotated with fine writing of the period and preserved in its beautiful embossed binding dated 1547.
The embossed binding, probably from a Central European workshop, is decorated on the first cover with a plaque depicting the Resurrection, dated 1528, and a border decorated with small portraits (including the Sybil) dated 1540. The second plate is framed by two portrait casters, one identical to the one used on the upper plate, the other, also dated 1540, decorated with portraits of Apollo and the Muses.
The copy bears the manuscript ex-libris of Piotrz de Goniadz (Petrus Gonesius), a Polish Calvinist reformer who died in the 1570s and 80s, and that of a man named Petri Arcadii (Peter Arcadius). Purchase mark on the title of the second work: Quatuor Grossis Anno 1542.
Repairs to the back, bits and caps, damaged corners with missing parts. Posterior handwritten title piece. Wormhole on the whole volume, some freckles.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

ARISTOTE.

Lot 5
Aller au lot
3 000 - 4 000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 18 171 EUR

ARISTOTE.

Libri octo physicorum. S.l.n.d. [au colophon] : Cracovie, Joannis Haller, 1519. In-4, veau fauve estampé à froid sur ais, jeux de filets et large roulette formant encadrement sur les plats, le centre du premier plat orné d'une plaque, celui du second d'un motif végétal répété en semé, restes de fermoirs, dos à trois nerfs, titre à l'encre sur la tranche supérieure (Reliure de l'époque).
Rarissime édition imprimée à Cracovie par Jan Haller, typographe originaire de Nuremberg et l'un des tous premiers imprimeurs établis dans la cité polonaise. Il s'agit de la traduction latine par Jean Argyropoulos († vers 1487) des huit livres de la physique d'Aristote?: la traduction de cet humaniste byzantin, professeur à Padoue et à Constantinople, parut d'abord à Rome en 1481.
Jolie impression en caractères romains, à l'exception des cinq premières lignes du titre qui sont en caractères gothiques, agrémentée d'un jeu d'initiales à la manière des rubricateurs du siècle précédent et de l'époque.
On a relié à la suite, du même : In libros Physicorum, De coelo & mundo, De gene. & corr., Meteororum, De anima. S.l.n.d. [au colophon]?: Strasbourg, Ulrich Morhard, septembre 1520.
Très rare édition strasbourgeoise de la traduction et des commentaires d'Albertus Magnus (Albert d'Orlamünde et non Albert le Grand ?), imprimée par Morhrard pour le grand libraire viennois Lucas Alantsee, dont le nom est cité au colophon sous la mention Ductu Lucae Alantseae.
Imprimée en caractères romains, elle est ornée sur le titre d'un bel encadrement gravé sur bois daté 1519.
Précieux exemplaire réunissant deux très rares éditions d'Aristote, abondamment annoté d'une fine écriture de l'époque et conservé dans sa jolie reliure estampée et datée de 1547.
La reliure estampée, sans doute sortie d'un atelier d'Europe centrale, est ornée sur le premier plat d'une plaque figurant la Résurrection, datée 1528, et d'une bordure ornée de petits portraits (dont la Sybille) datée 1540. Le second plat est encadré de deux roulettes aux portraits, l'une identique à celle employé sur le plat supérieur, l'autre, également datée 1540, ornée des portraits d'Apollon et des muses.
L'exemplaire porte l'ex-libris manuscrit de Piotrz de Goniadz (Petrus Gonesius), réformateur calviniste polonais mort dans les années 1570-1580, et celui d'un dénommé Petri Arcadii (Pierre Arcadius). Marque d'achat sur le titre du second ouvrage : Quatuor Grossis Anno 1542.
Réparation au dos, mors et coiffes, coins accidentés avec manques. Pièce de titre manuscrite postérieure. Trou de ver sur l'ensemble du volume, quelques rousseurs.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue