ANTONIUS (Marc-Antoine)

Lot 36
Aller au lot
800 - 1 200 EUR
Leave absentee bid
Your amount
 EUR
Bid by phone
Bid by phone

ANTONIUS (Marc-Antoine)

In Greek and Latin:] De Seipso and Ad Seipsum libri XII. London, M. Flesher for
R. Mynne, 1643. 2 parts in one volume in-8, 28 ff.n.ch., 343 and 148 pp., 2 ff.n.ch.: fawn calf, golden coat of arms in the center, spine richly decorated with repeated numerals in the caissons, red edges (contemporary binding).
Pretty typographical edition of the Moral Reflections of Emperor Mark Antony (2nd century) in the first Latin translation by the humanist William Xylander (1532-1576) accompanied by the notes of Méric Casaubon (1599-1671).
The Latin translation is printed next to the original Greek text.
Bound with the arms of Jacques-Auguste de Thou, together with those of his second wife, Gasparde de La Chastre.
The volume obviously did not belong to the famous bibliophile, who died in 1617, but to his younger son, Jacques-Auguste II de Thou (1609-1677), who became a full heir to his father's estate in 1642, after the death of his two older brothers and the purchase of the shares from his sister. It was certainly he - who continued to expand the family library - who had his parents' coat of arms stamped on the copy.
The copy appeared in a catalogue of the books in the collection of the De Bure brothers' bookshop (II, 1835, no. 465): it bears the following numbers on a guard, in the hand of Jean-Jacques de Bure: D. de J. 1252 and 254.
An ex-libris torn off the upper back cover, library label numbered XXV. D. Freckles and stains on some leaves. Skilful restorations at the binding (hinges, caps and corners).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

ANTONIUS (Marc-Antoine)

Lot 36
Aller au lot
800 - 1 200 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 940 EUR

ANTONIUS (Marc-Antoine)

[En grec et latin:] De Seipso et Ad Seipsum libri XII. Londres, M. Flesher pour
R. Mynne, 1643. 2 parties en un volume in-8, 28 ff.n.ch., 343 et 148 pp., 2 ff.n.ch.: veau fauve, armoiries dorées au centre, dos richement orné avec chiffre répété dans les caissons, tranches rouges (reliure de l'époque).
Jolie édition typographique des Réflexions morales de l'empereur Marc-Antoine (IIe siècle) dans la première traduction latine de l'humaniste Guillaume Xylander (1532-1576) accompagnée des notes de Méric Casaubon (1599-1671).
La traduction latine est imprimée en regard du texte originel en grec.
Reliure aux armes de Jacques-Auguste de Thou, accolées à celles de sa seconde femme, Gasparde de La Chastre.
Le volume n'a évidemment pas appartenu au célèbre bibliophile, mort en 1617, mais à son fils cadet, Jacques-Auguste II de Thou (1609-1677), devenu héritier à part entière des biens de son père en 1642, après la mort de ses deux frères aînés et le rachat des parts à sa sœur. C'est certainement lui - qui continuait d'augmenter la bibliothèque familiale - qui fit frapper les armoiries de ses parents sur l'exemplaire.
L'exemplaire a figuré dans un catalogue des livres du fonds de la librairie des frères De Bure (II, 1835, nº 465): il porte d'ailleurs sur une garde les cotes suivantes, de la main de Jean-Jacques de Bure: D. de J. 1252 et 254.
Un ex-libris arraché au contreplat supérieur, étiquette de bibliothèque cotée XXV. D. Rousseurs et taches à quelques feuillets. Habiles restaurations à la reliure (charnières, coiffes et coins).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue