HORACE

Lot 30
Aller au lot
800 - 1 200 EUR
Leave absentee bid
Your amount
 EUR
Bid by phone
Bid by phone

HORACE

[Opera]. Paris, Robert III Estienne, 1613.
In-12, 4 ff.n.ch., 227 and 69 pp., 1 f.n.ch.: aubergine morocco, on the covers large symmetrical decoration of straight, curved and scrolled black scrolls, decorated spine, small black stylized iron, black morocco lining decorated with a Du Seuil style decoration, marbled paper double endpapers, gilt edges (binding ca. 1880).
Nice edition of Horace's works, based on the text by Daniel Heinsius with notes by his brother-in-law Jan Rutgers.
The lined binding is decorated with an unset mosaic decoration which underlines the virtuosity of the bookbinder.
This practice of unset mosaic was one of Henri Creuzevault's specialities in the second half of the 20th century.
It does not bear any signature but is undeniably the work of Hardy, a former worker from Niedrée. In this respect, it is similar to a similarly decorated binding covering a copy of the same edition, reproduced in the catalogue of the Collection d'un bibliophile (2018, no. 28).
The copy, ruled and with wide margins (H. 154 mm), appears to be on large paper
(Renouard, Estienne, p. 202, no. 7, and p. 485: refers to a Latin ode by Robert Estienne on the assassination of King Henry IV, not present here, which is sometimes found interspersed between the text and Rutgers' notes; see cat. Charles Pieters, 1864, no. 1083).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

HORACE

Lot 30
Aller au lot
800 - 1 200 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

HORACE

[Opera]. Paris, Robert III Estienne, 1613.
In-12, 4 ff.n.ch., 227 et 69 pp., 1 f.n.ch.: maroquin aubergine, sur les plats grand décor symétrique de listels noirs droits, courbes et enroulés, dos orné, petit fer stylisé noir, doublure de maroquin noir orné d'un décor à la Du Seuil, doubles gardes de papier marbré, tranches dorées (reliure vers 1880).
Jolie édition des œuvres d'Horace, établie d'après le texte de Daniel Heinsius avec les notes de son beau-frère Jan Rutgers.
La reliure doublée est ornée d'un décor mosaïqué non serti qui souligne la virtuosité du relieur.
Cette pratique de la mosaïque non sertie fut l'une des spécialités d'Henri Creuzevault dans la seconde moitié du XXe siècle.
Elle ne porte aucune signature mais est incontestablement de la main de Hardy, ancien ouvrier de Niedrée. On la rapprochera à ce sujet d'une reliure au décor similaire, recouvrant un exemplaire de la même édition, reproduite au catalogue de la Collection d'un bibliophile (2018, nº 28).
L'exemplaire, réglé et à grandes marges (H. 154 mm), semble en grand papier.
(Renouard, Estienne, p. 202, nº 7, et p. 485: signale une ode latine de Robert Estienne sur l'assassinat du roi Henri IV, non présente ici, que l'on trouve parfois intercalée entre le texte et les notes de Rutgers ; voir le cat. Charles Pieters, 1864, nº 1083.)
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue