ILBERY, London - Fin du XVIIIe siècle

Lot 168
Aller au lot
12 000 - 18 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 56 672 EUR

ILBERY, London - Fin du XVIIIe siècle


Enamelled gold watch made for the Chinese market with double half-pearl surround. Hinged case with a double-sided half-pearl surround and a polychrome enamel medallion depicting a mountain scene with a lake, the bélière and the interior poly-lobed. Dial in white enamel with Roman numerals, railroad minute track and central second hand, the bowl chiselled with foliated motifs. Fully chiselled and engraved "Chinese caliber" movement with suspended barrel, duplex escapement, three-armed balance spring with counterweight, rubies on the balance shaft with adjusting racket, plate signed "Ilbery, London 7176".
Diam. 60 mm
Weight. 155.5 g
Williem Ilbery (1760-1839) is the most recognized of all watch manufacturers for the Chinese market. For many of his enamelled watches he used finely engraved movements incorporating duplex escapements and outer cases set with pearls. The polychrome enamel scene reminds us of the work of Geneva enameller Jean-Louis Richter, considered one of the greatest talents of his early 19th century era.
Active in London from 1780 in Goswell Street, he moved to Duncan Terrace towards the end of the 18th century. After James Cox in London and Jaquet Droz in Switzerland, he also specialized in the production of luxury watches for the Chinese market. The cases of his watches were sumptuously decorated by the best Geneva enamellers, such as Jean-François-Victor Dupont, who usually signed his work, and Jean-Louis Richter, who rarely signed. He organized the production in Switzerland, mainly in Fleurier, of richly engraved movements for the Asian market.
Ilbery's name is still present in the largest collections of antique watches sold at auction, such as the Time Museum's collection at Sotheby's in New York in 1999 and Lord Sandberg's collection in Geneva in 2001. A complete section is dedicated to the watches signed by this watchmaker in the Patek Philippe Museum book, Volume III, The Emergence of the Portable Watch, pp. 425-448.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

ILBERY, London - Fin du XVIIIe siècle

Lot 168
Aller au lot
12 000 - 18 000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 56 672 EUR

ILBERY, London - Fin du XVIIIe siècle


Montre en or émaillé fabriquée pour le marché chinois avec double entourage de demi-perles. Boîtier sur charnière avec un entourage de demi-perles recto-verso et un médaillon en émail polychrome représentant une scène de montagne avec un lac, la bélière ainsi que l'intérieur polylobés. Cadran en émail blanc avec chiffres romains, minuterie chemin de fer et trotteuse centrale, la cuvette ciselée de motifs feuillagés. Mouvement dit «calibre chinois» entièrement ciselé et gravé avec barillet suspendu, échappement duplex, balancier spiral trois bras avec contrepoids, rubis sur l'axe de balancier avec raquette de réglage, platine signée «Ilbery, London 7176».
Diam. 60 mm
Poids. 155,5 g
Williem Ilbery (1760-1839) est le plus reconnu de tous les fabricants de montres pour le marché chinois. Pour bon nombre de ses montres émaillées, il utilise des mouvements finement gravés incorporant des échappements duplex et des boîtiers extérieurs sertis de perles. La scène émaillée polychrome nous rappelle le travail de l'émailleur genevois Jean-Louis Richter, considéré comme l'un des plus grands talents de son époque du début du XIXe siècle.
Actif à Londres à partir de 1780 dans Goswell Street, il s'installe à Duncan Terrace vers la fin du XVIIIe siècle. Après James Cox à Londres et Jaquet Droz en Suisse, il s'est également spécialisé dans la production de montres de luxe pour le marché chinois. Les boîtiers de ses montres étaient somptueusement décorés par les meilleurs émailleurs genevois, comme Jean-François-Victor Dupont, qui signait habituellement son travail, et Jean-Louis Richter, qui signait rarement. Il organise la production en Suisse, principalement à Fleurier, de mouvements abondamment gravés pour le marché asiatique.
Le nom d'Ilbery est toujours présent dans les plus grandes collections de montres anciennes vendues aux enchères, celle du Time Museum chez Sotheby's à New York en 1999 ou encore celle de la Collection de Lord Sandberg en 2001 à Genève. Une section complète est dédiée aux montres signées de cet horloger dans le livre du Patek Philippe Museum, Volume III, The Emergence of the Portable Watch, pp. 425 à 448.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue