BARBIER (George).

Lot 113
Aller au lot
3 000 - 4 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 9 023 EUR

BARBIER (George).

Comedy characters. Text by Albert Flament. Paris, Meynial, 1922. Large in-4, fir-green morocco, on the flats composition of straight and curved gilt fillets evoking the curtains of a theatre stage, with a mosaic composition in the form of an inverted pyramid at the head, spine ribbed with the gilt title on several lines, mosaic motifs at the head and tail, inside frame of a large purple listel and two gilt fillets, small red triangle at the corners, lining and silk endpapers brocaded, gilt edges on witnesses, case (Ch. Septier).
Work composed and ordered by George Barbier, who illustrated it in colour with 12 plates out of text, 22 lettering, a composition for the false title repeated on the cover, a title vignette, 2 headbands and a cul-de-lampe, all engraved by François-Louis Schmied, who also drew the text and printed the book on his presses.
Edition of 150 copies on wove wove paper, all signed by George Barbier.
A copy offered by the publisher to François-Louis Schmied, with this dispatch: To the engraver and printer of this book this sentence is worth more than the best compliments I can give you "The Work speaks and will remain". Friendly. J. Meynial.
Interesting binding by Charles Septier, whose mosaic compositions are inspired by the illustration of La Finette.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

BARBIER (George).

Lot 113
Aller au lot
3 000 - 4 000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

BARBIER (George).

Personnages de comédie. Texte par Albert Flament. Paris, Meynial, 1922. Grand in-4, maroquin vert sapin, sur les plats composition de filets dorés droits et courbes évoquant les rideaux d'une scène de théâtre, avec composition mosaïquée de forme de pyramide inversée en tête, dos à nerfs portant le titre doré sur plusieurs lignes, motifs mosaïqués en tête et queue, encadrement intérieur d'un large listel violet et de deux filets dorés, petit triangle rouge aux angles, doublure et gardes de soie brochée, tranches dorées sur témoins, étui (Ch. Septier).
Ouvrage composé et ordonné par George Barbier, qui l'a illustré en couleurs de 12 planches hors texte, 22 lettrines, une composition pour le faux-titre répétée sur la couverture, une vignette de titre, 2 bandeaux et un cul-de-lampe, le tout gravé par François-Louis Schmied, qui a également dessiné le texte et tiré le livre sur ses presses.
Tirage à 150 exemplaires sur vélin de cuve, tous signés par George Barbier.
Exemplaire offert par l'éditeur à François-Louis Schmied, avec cet envoi: Au graveur et imprimeur du présent livre cette phrase vaut mieux que les meilleurs compliments que je pourrai vous faire “L'Œuvre parle et restera”. Amicalement. J. Meynial.
Intéressante reliure de Charles Septier, dont les compositions mosaïquées sont inspirées de l'illustration de La Finette.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue