MANUSCRIT. — ALCHIMIE

Lot 43
Aller au lot
1 500 - 2 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 1 932 EUR

MANUSCRIT. — ALCHIMIE

Collection of recipes and various alchemical operations. S.l.n.d. late 17th - early 18th century]. In-folio manuscript (290 x 190 mm), about 500 pages, covered vellum, smooth back with ink title, red slices, modern case (modern binding).
Manuscript of alchemical recipes and operations for the Great Work: hermetic water, drinking gold, water of the Wise, fixing mercury, perfect and imperfect salts, freezing, calcination, etc.
It includes, in addition to a treatise on antimony and a speech on the matter of philosophers, a collection of several philosophers on the great first Elixir (Arnauld de Villeneuve, the Chemical Theatre, Pontanus, Buther, Raymond Lulle, Mary the Prophetess, Nicolas Flamel, Isaac the Dutch, etc.) and The Practice of the Great Work of the Philosopher's Stone by Brother Philippe Rouillard, Piedmontese cordmaker.
There are also recipes and other remedies for medicine, the arts and techniques: recipes to soften iron and steel, colour leather, various varnishes, wonderful ointments, plague powder, theriac, etc.
2 large modern vellum drawings have been added to the manuscript: a large allegorical figure of the triumphant Alchemy and a composition representing an athanor related to all the operations of the great work; a painting on the planets is at the beginning of the manuscript, and another on the alchemical symbols has been placed at the end.
Wetness on a few leaves.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

MANUSCRIT. — ALCHIMIE

Lot 43
Aller au lot
1 500 - 2 000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

MANUSCRIT. — ALCHIMIE

Recueil de recettes et opérations diverses et alchimiques. S.l.n.d. [fin XVIIe - début XVIIIe siècle]. Manuscrit in-folio (290 x 190 mm), environ 500 pages, vélin à recouvrement, dos lisse portant le titre à l'encre, tranches rouges, étui moderne (Reliure moderne).
Manuscrit de recettes et opérations alchimiques pour le Grand Oeuvre : l'eau hermétique, l'or potable, l'eau des Sages, la fixation du mercure, les sels parfaits et imparfaits, la congélation, la calcination, etc.
Il comprend notamment, outre un traité de l'antimoine et un discours sur la matière des philosophes, un Recueil de plusieurs philosophes touchant le grand Elixir premier (Arnauld de Villeneuve, le Théâtre chimique, Pontanus, Buther, Raymond Lulle, Marie la prophétesse, Nicolas Flamel, Isaac le hollandais, etc.) et La pratique du grand oeuvre de la pierre des philosophes par frère Philippe Rouillard cordelier piémontais.
On y trouve aussi des recettes et autres remèdes pour la médecine, les arts et les techniques : recettes pour amollir le fer et l'acier, colorer les cuirs, divers vernis, onguents merveilleux, poudre contre la peste, thériaque, etc.
2 grands dessins modernes sur vélin ont été ajoutés au manuscrit : une grande figure allégorique de l'Alchimie triomphante et une composition représentant un athanor relié à toutes les opérations du grand oeuvre ; un tableau sur les planètes se trouve au début du manuscrit, et un autre sur les symboles alchimiques a été placé à la fin.
Mouillure à quelques feuillets.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue